Disable Client Auto-update


  • Developer

    To make it official , I spoke with Tom today and I learned that the client auto updates at boot. (yeah been out of the loop for awhile) With many businesses using products like Clean Slate and Deepfreeze this client auto update would be a “useless” tool. Just to take you through the process. The pc gets client installed --> server gets updated along with new client update --> pc gets booted and the client sees a new update is on the server --> client downloads update and installs --> pc shuts down and Deepfreeze wipes out all changed made while in frozen state --> pc boots client sees new update and installs. This loop will continue until the client has been “thawed” and changes allowed to be made to the hard drive. This seems like wasted bandwidth. Don’t get me wrong auto update feature is awesome. Just some people (like me) will want auto updates disabled for hosts that are frozen.

    Might I suggest a “Disable Client Auto updates” tick in the global settings and also for Host/Group settings.


  • Senior Developer

    For right now, I can only implement disabling auto-update based on global setting. This is because the client doesn’t return any identifying host information for us to filter by host.

    However, this is, I think, a very needed “feature” of FOG and the new client.

    My posting seems a bit strange I’m sure, but just know it’s trying to say this has now been implemented.


  • Developer

    @Jbob nicely done making it 100% isolated.

    @Wayne-Workman I stuck with the old client this past year as Joe was still pushing the development of the new client. I’m interested in using the new client. Try not to strike things down so quickly.

    When working in a school and pulling out 30+ laptops in a classroom you want to cut down as much as you can on the wifi traffic. As our current setup can easily accommodate the 6MB download per laptop, it just seems like it’s wasted. Is there any possible way only have a select clients not update?


  • Moderator

    @Jbob said in Disable Client Auto-update:

    Unfortunately it wouldn’t be that easy. Auto updating is a 100% isolated system. The server doesn’t even need to have a host registered for its client to update.

    I feel I should add that any update is first verified for authenticity, too. :-)
    @jbob did it right.


  • Senior Developer

    Unfortunately it wouldn’t be that easy. Auto updating is a 100% isolated system. The server doesn’t even need to have a host registered for its client to update.


  • Moderator

    This is a good idea - however - the client and the server are being developed simultaneously.

    updates to the server may break older clients… or cause weird things to happen.

    I might even suggest sticking with the legacy client until 1.3 in your case.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.