Hostname changer is unable to rename computer



  • Hi,

    I don’t know if it’s related to Win10 (I didn’t deloy Win7 machine since few weeks) or fog server or the client, but each time I deploy a computer, it reboots a lot of time (indefinitely…), once to integrate domain, once to quit the domain, but it’s unable to rename computer, it just integrates AD…

    For example, its name as to be “s176prof”
    0_1464876282825_Capture.JPG

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------HostnameChanger-------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     02/06/2016 15:59 Client-Info Client Version: 0.10.6
     02/06/2016 15:59 Client-Info Client OS:      Windows
     02/06/2016 15:59 Client-Info Server Version: 7969
     02/06/2016 15:59 Middleware::Response Success
     02/06/2016 15:59 HostnameChanger Checking Hostname
     02/06/2016 15:59 HostnameChanger Removing host from active directory
     02/06/2016 15:59 HostnameChanger Success, code =  0
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Creating shutdown request
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Parameters: /r /c "Host left active directory, restart needed" /t 0
     02/06/2016 15:59 HostnameChanger Renaming host to S176PROF
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Creating shutdown request
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Parameters: /r /c "FOG needs to rename your computer" /t 0
     02/06/2016 15:59 HostnameChanger Success, code =  0
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Creating shutdown request
     02/06/2016 15:59 Power Parameters: /r /c "Host joined to Active Directory, restart required" /t 0
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------HostnameChanger-------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     02/06/2016 16:01 Client-Info Client Version: 0.10.6
     02/06/2016 16:01 Client-Info Client OS:      Windows
     02/06/2016 16:01 Client-Info Server Version: 7969
     02/06/2016 16:01 Middleware::Response Success
     02/06/2016 16:01 HostnameChanger Checking Hostname
     02/06/2016 16:01 HostnameChanger Removing host from active directory
     02/06/2016 16:01 HostnameChanger Success, code =  0
     02/06/2016 16:01 Power Creating shutdown command in 60 seconds
     02/06/2016 16:01 Bus {
      "self": true,
      "channel": "Power",
      "data": "{\r\n  \"action\": \"request\",\r\n  \"period\": 60,\r\n  \"options\": 2,\r\n  \"command\": \"/r /c \\\"Host left active directory, restart needed\\\" /t 0\",\r\n  \"message\": \"This computer needs to perform maintenance.\"\r\n}"
    }
     02/06/2016 16:01 Bus Emmiting message on channel: Power
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    Any help will be appreciated ;)
    Thanks !



  • @Matthieu-Jacquart said in Hostname changer is unable to rename computer:

    @Tom-Elliott I hope it’s resolved with last client but I can’t be sure…
    You can close the case, I couldn’t test more before mid-august…

    Yes I can confirm, client 0.11.2 resolves this issue



  • @Tom-Elliott I hope it’s resolved with last client but I can’t be sure…
    You can close the case, I couldn’t test more before mid-august…


  • Senior Developer

    Is this still an issue?



  • @Wayne-Workman Done, I renamed a computer and disjoined AD, after that AD integration is good but not the name…
    0_1466492917005_fog.log


  • Moderator

    @Matthieu-Jacquart said in Hostname changer is unable to rename computer:

    but still 14 with random name…

    Is it possible to confirm that the client is doing it’s job without sysprep involved at all? Can we do this just as a test?



  • @Tom-Elliott ok, I understood how works ComputerName in sysprep, but I wonder if it’s a good or bad idea to have it in syprep with fog deployment…
    Same thing for early hostname changer, do I have to check it (uncheck for me) ?

    2 hours later I have 3 more PC with right name in AD, but still 14 with random name…


  • Senior Developer

    @Matthieu-Jacquart That line (<ComputerName>*</ComputerName>) creates the system with a very random name.

    From @joe-schmitt:

    early_hostname_changer + sysprep + client issues
    Basically this is what was happening:
    early hostname changer runs
    Hostname is now updated
    Sysprep runs, changes it but not fully
    A reboot is needed
    Client runs, and according to its checks hostname is right
    So joins to ad
    Reboots
    Hostname is now wrong, and ad is joined
    So client re-joins
    Requiring 3 more reboot



  • @Matthieu-Jacquart So it’s not ok :(
    I deployed 20 computers this morning, windows 10, removed from AD before deployment.
    Result : AD integration for all of them, but only 3 were able to have the right name.
    For the 17 others, random name.

    For example computer name “BOIS-64RNM4FT88” in AD :

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------HostnameChanger-------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     20/06/2016 09:52 Client-Info Client Version: 0.11.0
     20/06/2016 09:52 Client-Info Client OS:      Windows
     20/06/2016 09:52 Client-Info Server Version: 8169
     20/06/2016 09:52 Middleware::Response Success
     20/06/2016 09:52 HostnameChanger Checking Hostname
     20/06/2016 09:52 HostnameChanger Removing host from active directory
     20/06/2016 09:52 HostnameChanger Success, code =  0
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Creating shutdown request
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Parameters: /r /c "Host left active directory, restart needed" /t 0
     20/06/2016 09:52 HostnameChanger Renaming host to S085P01
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Creating shutdown request
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Parameters: /r /c "FOG needs to rename your computer" /t 0
     20/06/2016 09:52 HostnameChanger Success, code =  0
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Creating shutdown request
     20/06/2016 09:52 Power Parameters: /r /c "Host joined to Active Directory, restart required" /t 0
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    But even after multiple reboot, “S085P01” name never appears in AD…

    There’s line <ComputerName>*</ComputerName> in sysprep, is it really necessary ?



  • It seems ok for me too (tested on one computer) with fogservice disabled before sysprep



  • I have continued testing today and the hostname is changing correctly. I unchecked “FOG_CHANGE_HOSTNAME_EARLY” in FOG Settings. Sorry for the false alarm!



  • @Wayne-Workman sorry for forgetting the logs, it is now included in my original post below. I appreciate any insight, let me know what other info I can share. Thanks!



  • @JoeG Hi, I disabled fogservice before sysprep and create cmd in c:\windows\setup\scripts, it works for activating fogservice but hostanme changer still having problem… I’ll try to do more test today and I come back with fog.log
    Important question : I use <ComputerName>*</ComputerName> in Sysprep, is it a good thing to do or it’s better to remove it ?
    Same for fog options “FOG_CHANGE_HOSTNAME_EARLY”, it’s uncheck, is it ok ?


  • Moderator

    @JoeG If the fog client is indeed starting as it should post-sysprep, then no there should be no problems. I’ll tell you like we tell everyone here - we need the fog client log to really help in any sort of valuable way. It’s here on the host: c:\fog.log



  • I am experiencing the same problem with hostname changer not renaming the computer. Running trunk SVN 5673. I do not bind to AD during deployment.

    Additional info: I disable the FOG client service, sysprep, then capture the image. In my SetupComplete.cmd script I have included

    sc config FOGService start= auto
    net start FOGService
    

    This was necessary in order to avoid the “Windows could not complete the installation…” error but I wonder if this is keeping Hostname Changer from succeeding.

    Hostname Changer excerpt from fog.log on target machine, full log attached. The name should be MELLON

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------HostnameChanger-------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     6/16/2016 9:20 AM Client-Info Client Version: 0.10.6
     6/16/2016 9:20 AM Client-Info Client OS:      Windows
     6/16/2016 9:20 AM Client-Info Server Version: 8088
     6/16/2016 9:20 AM Middleware::Response Success
     6/16/2016 9:20 AM HostnameChanger Users still logged in and enforce is disabled, delaying any further actions
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    0_1466084279687_fog.log



  • I confirm, if I delete host from AD before deployment it seems ok, but if I forgot it’s impossible to rename computer.
    It worked few weeks ago.



  • Same issue windows 8.1
    When I deploy image, if I delete active directory parameters for the host, renaming is ok.
    And after, I active active directory parameters, and joining domain is ok, with the right host name


  • Moderator

    Informing @joe-schmitt


Log in to reply
 

461
Online

39183
Users

10832
Topics

103076
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.