Bugs in FOG 1.0.0
-
Thanks! I’ll check the apache log file at work tomorrow. The strange thing is it only breaks the GUI in this particular group of 245 hosts, not my other groups. As mentioned in other threads there have been problems with the creation of groups in previous relewses. I’ll delete the group and recreate another one to eliminate fault possible been in previous releases of FOG.
-
Testing the problem with broken GUI. I deleted the group (not hosts) and recreated the group with the same name. Got the error (broken GUI as screenshot in another post shows). Did a new test adding som other hosts to a new group. Now I am not able to list all groups. Blank screen and an error in apache log:
[Fri May 09 14:05:24 2014] [error] [client 172.20.0.45] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 82 bytes) in /var/www/html/fog/lib/db/MySQL.class.php on line 119, referer: [url]http://192.168.60.254/fog/management/index.php?node=group[/url]Now I am not able to either search nor list my groups.
-
Hm, i fixed this by editing phpi.no memory_limit = 32M (was 16). This seems to have cured the broken GUI as well. Groups containing many hosts was the problem.
Could there be some check or warning during FOG installation to warn the user about this? Not a problem when you know where to trouble shoot, but a pain when you dont.
-
[quote=“pmonstad, post: 26814, member: 17422”]Hm, i fixed this by editing phpi.no memory_limit = 32M (was 16). This seems to have cured the broken GUI as well. Groups containing many hosts was the problem.
Could there be some check or warning during FOG installation to warn the user about this? Not a problem when you know where to trouble shoot, but a pain when you dont.[/quote]
So just to test, I set my memory_limit to 16M and restarted the httpd service on my CentOS server. I still have your export loaded and tested everything out. All still seems to be working perfectly fine.
-
Testing the basic limits needed:
/etc/php.iniJust Basic Loading:
memory_limit = 1M (I Get White Page) Error Returned:
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 1048576 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 122880 bytes
[/code]memory_limit = 2M (I Get White Page) Error Returned:
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 2097152 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 733121 bytes)
[/code]memory_limit = 3M (I Get White Page) Error Returned:
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 3145728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 32418 bytes)
[/code]memory_limit = 4M (I Get White Page) Error Returned:
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 4194304 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 49152 bytes)
[/code]Success!!! At 5M for basic page loading.
memory_limit = 5M Go to groups page: List All Groups: (I Get White Page) Error Returned
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 5242880 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 32 bytes)
[/code]memory_limit = 6M List All Groups: (I Get White Page) Error Returned
[code]
PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 6291456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 72 bytes)
[/code]My system’s memory_limit was default to 128M. I don’t know what the memory limit is set to on Ubuntu, but usually I don’t touch that setting to begin with. Did somebody else make a setting change on your FOG Server?
-
The discussion source [URL=‘http://fogproject.org/forum/threads/latest-fog-1-0-0.10417/page-3’]is here[/URL] but is not well placed, I continue here. Sorry for the inconvenience.
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26876, member: 7271”]What revision are/were you running that you saw this issue? I’ve since changed the Task management page to redirect to the active tasks when you first go to the page. This is a direct redirection and should allow for progress updating. That doesn’t mean it is working, nor do I expect a quick fix for this right away. It’s easy enough of a fix, but isn’t that huge on the priority listing for me.[/quote]
Where I can see the release ? I install FOG with [URL=‘http://fogproject.org/?q=node/19’]this process[/URL].[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26876, member: 7271”]I don’t know why. I normally see messages that basically say, along the lines, that the System has no work to perform. However, maybe this is an error? I say this because was your Image Joined to the domain before you uploaded it? I think the message you’re seeing is actually an Error that’s telling you it couldn’t join the “new” system to the domain because it’s already joined where it’s not expecting it to be joined.[/quote]
The machine in well added nevertheless. I think this message goes out only because the machine cannot be again added because already added. -
[quote=“aruhuno, post: 26879, member: 105”]The discussion source [URL=‘http://fogproject.org/forum/threads/latest-fog-1-0-0.10417/page-3’]is here[/URL] but is not well placed, I continue here. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Where I can see the release ? I install FOG with [URL=‘http://fogproject.org/?q=node/19’]this process[/URL].[/quote]
If you followed the SVN Process, simply cd into the downloaded folder (maybe cd trunk) and run the command [code]svn info[/code]
You should get information output such as:
[code]URL: https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code/trunk
Relative URL: ^/trunk
Repository Root: https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code
Repository UUID: 71f96598-fa45-0410-b640-bcd6f8691b32
Revision: 1654
Node Kind: directory
Schedule: normal
Last Changed Author: masterzune
Last Changed Rev: 1654
Last Changed Date: 2014-05-11 20:25:54 -0400 (Sun, 11 May 2014)[/code]The Revision: #### Line is the one that will tell you what your’s is currently at.
If you want to update, within the same folder that you ran svn info run:
[code]svn update[/code]Then rerun the installer:
[code]cd bin
./installfog.sh[/code]It will upgrade your existing installation.
[quote=“aruhuno, post: 26879, member: 105”]The machine in well added nevertheless. I think this message goes out only because the machine cannot be again added because already added.[/quote]
I wouldn’t be too worried about it as it’s most likely, then, just returning a “general” error because it knows it needs to join to domain, but simply can’t because it’s already joined. It’s not a “true” error to be overly concerned about.
-
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26881, member: 7271”]If you followed the SVN Process, simply cd into the downloaded folder (maybe cd trunk) and run the command [code]svn info[/code][/quote]
Thanks, but I delete the checkout… Now I upgrade my FOG !
With Debian and maybe Ubuntu, the init scripts must have this header (FOGMulticastManager example) :
[CODE]#!/bin/shBEGIN INIT INFO
Provides: FOGMulticastManager
Required-Start: $local_fs $remote_fs $network
Required-Stop: $local_fs $remote_fs $network
Default-Start: 2 3 4 5
Default-Stop: 0 1 6
Short-Description: Start/stop FOG Computer Imaging Solution
END INIT INFO[/CODE]
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26881, member: 7271”]Then rerun the installer:
[code]cd bin
./installfog.sh[/code]
It will upgrade your existing installation.[/quote]
Thanks but /var/www/fog/commons/config.php is change without reason
I’ve issue with Quick Registration :
[URL=‘http://pix.toile-libre.org/?img=1399907248.png’][IMG]http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/thumb/1399907248.png[/IMG][/URL] [URL=‘http://pix.toile-libre.org/?img=1399907376.png’][IMG]http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/thumb/1399907376.png[/IMG][/URL] -
It changes the config.php because that’s what it’s programmed to do. If you set a mysql password, you’ll likely need to update the file once complete, but that’s it.
You can still re-checkout the svn source and upgrade using the installfog.sh as I gave you before.
-
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26928, member: 7271”]It changes the config.php because that’s what it’s programmed to do. If you set a mysql password, you’ll likely need to update the file once complete, but that’s it.
You can still re-checkout the svn source and upgrade using the installfog.sh as I gave you before.[/quote]
[CODE]URL : svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code/trunk
Racine du dépôt : svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code
UUID du dépôt : 71f96598-fa45-0410-b640-bcd6f8691b32
Révision : 1659
Type de nœud : répertoire
Tâche programmée : normale
Auteur de la dernière modification : microleaks
Révision de la dernière modification : 1659
Date de la dernière modification: 2014-05-12 16:03:12 +0200 (lun. 12 mai 2014)[/CODE]
With this release I’ve the problem with Quick Registration and the header of init scripts for Debian/Ubuntu are not correct. -
[quote=“aruhuno, post: 26943, member: 105”][CODE]URL : svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code/trunk
Racine du dépôt : svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code
UUID du dépôt : 71f96598-fa45-0410-b640-bcd6f8691b32
Révision : 1659
Type de nœud : répertoire
Tâche programmée : normale
Auteur de la dernière modification : microleaks
Révision de la dernière modification : 1659
Date de la dernière modification: 2014-05-12 16:03:12 +0200 (lun. 12 mai 2014)[/CODE]
With this release I’ve the problem with Quick Registration and the header of init scripts for Debian/Ubuntu are not correct.[/quote]I’m not changing the scripts because they have never had any issues that I was aware of. What I mean, is many people have been installing FOG for quite a long time without any issue. That’s not to say there isn’t an issue, but to my knowledge, the three FOGScheduler, FOGMulticastManager, and FOGImageReplicator scripts have been working as they are currently setup and you’re the first describing that they’re not working. What OS is your FOG Server? There are many people on the forums with Debian, Ubuntu, Redhat, CentOS, Fedora, Linux Mint, etc… and no one has reported an issue such as yours.
I found the quick registration issue and have pushed 1669 out to fix this issue.
Thank you for reporting the bug.
-
Error when installing/upgrading: I am upgrading to rev 1669 on my CentOS server. The install script fails with error: Starting FOG Multicast Management Server…Failed!
No way I can get it to complete the install. Anyone?
-
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26950, member: 7271”]I’m not changing the scripts because they have never had any issues that I was aware of. What I mean, is many people have been installing FOG for quite a long time without any issue. That’s not to say there isn’t an issue, but to my knowledge, the three FOGScheduler, FOGMulticastManager, and FOGImageReplicator scripts have been working as they are currently setup and you’re the first describing that they’re not working. What OS is your FOG Server? There are many people on the forums with Debian, Ubuntu, Redhat, CentOS, Fedora, Linux Mint, etc… and no one has reported an issue such as yours.[/quote]
That works without these, but it can have this kind of messages there which appear (it’s an example) :
[CODE]update-rc.d: using dependency based boot sequencing
insserv: warning: script ‘K01iptables’ missing LSB tags and overrides
insserv: warning: script ‘K80sauvegarde-ramdisk’ missing LSB tags and overrides
insserv: warning: script ‘sauvegarde-ramdisk’ missing LSB tags and overrides
insserv: warning: current start runlevel(s) (empty) of scriptsauvegarde-ramdisk' overwrites defaults (2 3 4 5). insserv: warning: current stop runlevel(s) (0 6) of script
sauvegarde-ramdisk’ overwrites defaults (0 1 6).
insserv: warning: script ‘iptables’ missing LSB tags and overrides[/CODE]
You can see what I mean here : [url]https://wiki.debian.org/LSBInitScripts[/url] (I’m using Debian Wheezy)[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26950, member: 7271”]I found the quick registration issue and have pushed 1669 out to fix this issue.[/quote]
Thanks, I upgrade when I’ve time. -
[quote=“pmonstad, post: 26951, member: 17422”]Error when installing/upgrading: I am upgrading to rev 1669 on my CentOS server. The install script fails with error: Starting FOG Multicast Management Server…Failed!
No way I can get it to complete the install. Anyone?[/quote]
Have you tried:
[code]service FOGMulticastManager restart[/code] To see if it reports any issues, cause I’m running CentOS 6.5 final on a few of my systems and have not had any issues installing.My best guess, maybe you tried installing as a local user, not as root?
Could it also be you have a mysql password set for the root user?
-
[quote=“pmonstad, post: 26951, member: 17422”]Error when installing/upgrading: I am upgrading to rev 1669 on my CentOS server. The install script fails with error: Starting FOG Multicast Management Server…Failed!
No way I can get it to complete the install. Anyone?[/quote]
I did a server restart and now it respons with error Starting FOG Image Replicator Server…Failed! I am not able to upgrade my installation.
-
[quote=“Tom Elliott, post: 26958, member: 7271”]Have you tried:
[code]service FOGMulticastManager restart[/code] To see if it reports any issues, cause I’m running CentOS 6.5 final on a few of my systems and have not had any issues installing.My best guess, maybe you tried installing as a local user, not as root?
Could it also be you have a mysql password set for the root user?[/quote]
I am running as root and my server has been unchanged for years. Have done a lot up FOG updates (almost a couple of times each day) and this has never been a problem before. After a server restart I now get a new error Starting FOG Image Replicator Server…Failed!
-
[quote=“pmonstad, post: 26961, member: 17422”]I am running as root and my server has been unchanged for years. Have done a lot up FOG updates (almost a couple of times each day) and this has never been a problem before. After a server restart I now get a new error Starting FOG Image Replicator Server…Failed![/quote]
Hm strange. I ran the command
service FOGMulticastManager restartIs respons with failed on stopping but OK on starting. Running the install script once again made it complete. Dont know was is wrong.
-
[quote=“pmonstad, post: 26963, member: 17422”]Hm strange. I ran the command
service FOGMulticastManager restartIs respons with failed on stopping but OK on starting. Running the install script once again made it complete. Dont know was is wrong.[/quote]
Then the service was not running, this is why it could not be stopped. One of the upstart commands must not have completed correctly, if a re-install fixed the issue and you did not upgrade only re-installed the same installer package.
-
Whether in virtual or physical machine, this problem appears in a unpredictable way:
[URL=‘http://pix.toile-libre.org/?img=1400057772.png’][IMG]http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/thumb/1400057772.png[/IMG][/URL]I don’t understand how to solve this issue with that : [url]http://ipxe.org/err/040ee1[/url]
My report about the init scripts is refused ?
[B]---- FOG SVN INFO[/B]
[CODE]Chemin : .
URL : http://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code/trunk
Racine du dépôt : http://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code
UUID du dépôt : 71f96598-fa45-0410-b640-bcd6f8691b32
Révision : 1687
Type de nœud : répertoire
Tâche programmée : normale
Auteur de la dernière modification : masterzune
Révision de la dernière modification : 1687
Date de la dernière modification: 2014-05-14 03:43:19 +0200 (mer. 14 mai 2014)[/CODE] -
[quote=“aruhuno, post: 27060, member: 105”]Whether in virtual or physical machine, this problem appears in a unpredictable way:
[URL=‘http://pix.toile-libre.org/?img=1400057772.png’][IMG]http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/thumb/1400057772.png[/IMG][/URL]I don’t understand how to solve this issue with that : [url]http://ipxe.org/err/040ee1[/url]
My report about the init scripts is refused ?
[B]---- FOG SVN INFO[/B]
[CODE]Chemin : .
URL : http://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code/trunk
Racine du dépôt : http://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeghost/code
UUID du dépôt : 71f96598-fa45-0410-b640-bcd6f8691b32
Révision : 1687
Type de nœud : répertoire
Tâche programmée : normale
Auteur de la dernière modification : masterzune
Révision de la dernière modification : 1687
Date de la dernière modification: 2014-05-14 03:43:19 +0200 (mer. 14 mai 2014)[/CODE][/quote]Your report about the init scripts is not “refused” just not an issue. Things are still working as you described earlier, therefore there’s not likely to be any change within them. Unless they’re causing issues with the services starting, nobody else has described this issue besides you. I don’t want to make a change that’s not hurting anybody else for one person’s issues.
In regards to your network issue as described, have you tried powering down the system and powering back up? If you do this is the problem still present?
I ask because I’m aware of a few quirks in iPXE and configuring network devices. For the most part, they all work fine, but there are a few times where this issue pops up. This is especially pertinent within VirtualBox Virtual Machines, which from what I can tell is a bug in VirtualBox, not a bug in iPXE. I’ve heard of this occurring on a few physical machines, and once again they seem to go away if the system is powered down, then powered back up. This could be a simple fix for physical machines by booting into windows and disabling the LAN Link Speed option to disabled.