User Profile



  • I make unattend file to automate my Windows install.

    It goes well, but my concern is the default ADMINISTRATOR account, yes it auto log on and fully functional and I can create a new user.

    So I created a new user with admin rights but I cant delete the default administrator account.

    How can I delete that default administrator account? so when I log off, only the user I created will show up…

    Is it possible to create a new user with admin rights before uploading it to FOG, so that when deployed, that user profile will be the one to be loaded in first log on? How ?

    Thanks


  • Moderator

    @prince-xyryl I do not believe the built-in administrator account can be deleted, but you can disable it.

    I am assuming you have something similar to this in your unattend file, correct?

    <AutoLogon>
                    <Password>
                        <Value>notmypw</Value>
                        <PlainText>true</PlainText>
                    </Password>
                    <LogonCount>3</LogonCount>
                    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
                    <Username>administrator</Username>
    </AutoLogon>
    

    If you remove that block when you run sysprep with the generalize switch it should not enable the administrator account. Just make sure you create your other account before hand.

    If you need the administrator account after sysprep you can disable it with this command: net user administrator /active:no

    More information: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/Cc766343(v=WS.10).aspx


  • Moderator

    @prince-xyryl Apologies for coming across harshly - I don’t see why you can’t delete an account. The steps I gave you below is (generally) how I’ve been deleting accounts for a decade - since Windows XP. Again, this isn’t a FOG issue and the problem is probably better suited for a Microsoft troubleshooting forum. They will probably want to know what OS you are using.

    It sounds like you’re using SysPrep, and it sounds like your unattend file is not working in the way you’d like - because you’re getting the OOBE. Yes, you can create an account prior to uploading. And you can also set that account as the default account that is auto-logged into. But I am not sure if sys-prep will undo that work or not.



  • @Wayne-Workman

    I cant delete it like I said. anyway SORRY… please close thread. Thanks


  • Moderator

    Firstly - this is not a fog problem.

    You cannot delete the account you are logged into. Log into the other account you created and then in Control Panel, go to User Management -> Manage other users and delete the administrator account there.


Log in to reply
 

406
Online

38970
Users

10712
Topics

101666
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.