Can't download image to client



  • Hi everyone,

    I have a working fog server (1.0.0)on ubuntu 14.04.
    I can successfully upload and download images…
    I recently came across a strange problem:
    When trying to download an image to a client (after performing full registration) it seems like it passed all the tests and then restarts without even starting to download.
    When choosing “quick image” or creating a task from the web interface it does the same…

    The image size on client is 494 GB, the image size on the server is 11.4 GB, the client I am trying to deploy has a 80 GB HD.
    The problem is the HD size (too small) or could it be something else?

    thanks,


  • Developer

    [quote=“Meitar Ronen, post: 32024, member: 24536”]I’ve tried that…
    No matter what I did I got the “Fatal Error” error…[/quote]

    In the future, I recommend using VirtualBox and making a snapshot of your image before you sysprep. I know this doesn’t solve the problem at hand, and I don’t really have nay recommendations, but this should help with future endeavors.

    If you you by chance need to sysprep again, you can revert the image to the previous snapshot and make adjustments without affecting the re-arm attempts. I hope this will help you to sort your problems later.

    Did the resizable upload fix the issue?

    If not are you opposed to pushing the image to a hard drive large enough AND WITHOUT BOOTING IT, editing the partition tables with a live gParted CD? This would allow use to manipulate the data into thinking it is smaller and possibly load it to another machine.



  • [quote=“David Herrington, post: 31975, member: 3549”]If you mean you’ve syspreped three times and cannot anymore, you need to add SkipRearm=1 to your answer file for any images you create in the future

    I could have misunderstood though[/quote]

    I’ve tried that…
    No matter what I did I got the “Fatal Error” error…



  • [quote=“Junkhacker, post: 31954, member: 21583”]if you have not booted up the computer into windows since syspreping it. just schedule an upload of a resizable image type, and upload it. also, if you have any drive large enough to download the image to that you already have, you could download it to that drive, and re-upload the same data as a resizable image.[/quote]

    Will try to upload it as a resizeable image, thanks :)



  • [quote=“Meitar Ronen, post: 31953, member: 24536”]Yes I know thank you… I have syspreped the image and can’t sysprep again so probably I need to re-create the image… :(
    Thank you anyway[/quote]

    If you mean you’ve syspreped three times and cannot anymore, you need to add SkipRearm=1 to your answer file for any images you create in the future

    I could have misunderstood though


  • Developer

    if you have not booted up the computer into windows since syspreping it. just schedule an upload of a resizable image type, and upload it. also, if you have any drive large enough to download the image to that you already have, you could download it to that drive, and re-upload the same data as a resizable image.



  • [quote=“Junkhacker, post: 31948, member: 21583”]if your image is of a windows computer, you can just re-upload as a resizable image, and then it should be usable. unless, of course, you actually have more then 80GB of data on that image, which is doubtful since it only takes up 11.4GB on server.[/quote]

    Yes I know thank you… I have syspreped the image and can’t sysprep again so probably I need to re-create the image… :(
    Thank you anyway


  • Developer

    if your image is of a windows computer, you can just re-upload as a resizable image, and then it should be usable. unless, of course, you actually have more then 80GB of data on that image, which is doubtful since it only takes up 11.4GB on server.



  • aw, I hoped I was wrong… it really sucks :(

    Thank you for your help anyway


  • Developer

    [quote=“BigMan99211, post: 31941, member: 21932”]I’ve had this issue before. The original drive that the image is pulled from HAS to be smaller than the drive that you want to copy the image to. So, if you used a 500GB drive to create the image, even though the image is only 11.4GB, you’ll have to use at least a 500GB drive to copy the image back. It sucks, but that’s just the way it is. :(

    Edit - Your best bet is to just create the original image on an 80GB drive. That way you can always push it to drives that are 80GB and larger![/quote]

    this is, however, not the case if you use a re-sizable image type, and the actual data on the image is less then the capacity of the client drive.



  • I’ve had this issue before. The original drive that the image is pulled from HAS to be smaller than the drive that you want to copy the image to. So, if you used a 500GB drive to create the image, even though the image is only 11.4GB, you’ll have to use at least a 500GB drive to copy the image back. It sucks, but that’s just the way it is. :(

    Edit - Your best bet is to just create the original image on an 80GB drive. That way you can always push it to drives that are 80GB and larger!


Log in to reply
 

338
Online

39.3k
Users

11.0k
Topics

104.4k
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.