• Recent
  • Unsolved
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Recent
  • Unsolved
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login

Add Full Inventory Task to PXE Menu

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved
FOG Problems
3
24
2.8k
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • G
    george1421 Moderator @george1421
    last edited by Dec 9, 2020, 8:17 PM

    @george1421 If I guessed right lets see what this does. You will need to go into FOG Configuration -> New iPXE Menu and fill it out like this

    Menu Item: fog.custom.inventory
    Description: Custom Quick Inventory
    Parameters:
    kernel bzImage loglevel=4 initrd=init.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=${boot-url}/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=${fog-ip}:/images/ storageip=${fog-ip} loglevel=4 mode=inventory deployed=1
    imgfetch init.xz || goto MENU
    Menu Show with: All Hosts

    Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

    F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 14, 2020, 8:33 PM Reply Quote 0
    • F
      FlareImp @george1421
      last edited by Dec 14, 2020, 8:27 PM

      @george1421 I’m going into the web gui for the client and choosing the advanced menu and then clicking on inventory to start an inventory task. then I go to the client that I chose and boot it into pxe to start the task. I would like to be able to just run the inventory task directly from the pxe menu.

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • F
        FlareImp @george1421
        last edited by Dec 14, 2020, 8:33 PM

        @george1421 I tried the task you listed, when I run it, it says

        “Could not boot: No such file or directory (http://pxe.org/2d16208e))”

        G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 14, 2020, 8:49 PM Reply Quote 0
        • G
          george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
          last edited by george1421 Dec 15, 2020, 9:23 AM Dec 14, 2020, 8:49 PM

          @flareimp Ok lets change the parameters up a bit.

          Menu Item: fog.custom.inventory
          Description: Custom Quick Inventory
          Parameters:
          kernel bzImage
          imgfetch init.xz
          imgargs loglevel=4 initrd=init.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=${boot-url}/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=${fog-ip}:/images/ storageip=${fog-ip} loglevel=4 mode=inventory deployed=1
          boot || goto MENU
          Menu Show with: All Hosts

          You should paste the parameters in directly without trying to decode anything.

          If it still doesn’t work what I want you to do with a browser key in the following URL http://<fog_server_ip>/fog/service/ipxe/boot.php&mac=00:00:00:00:00:01

          This is the text behind the iPXE boot menu. Copy and paste that text into a post here. I want to look at how the menu is created if the above doesn’t work. The instructions I provided should not have created that error message. Maybe another error message, but not that one.

          Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

          F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 3:07 PM Reply Quote 0
          • F
            FlareImp @george1421
            last edited by Dec 15, 2020, 3:07 PM

            @george1421 here is what it shows

            Capture.PNG

            G 2 Replies Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 3:22 PM Reply Quote 0
            • G
              george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
              last edited by Dec 15, 2020, 3:22 PM

              @flareimp Something wasn’t added right to the menu. Please call the url I mentioned before and post the results here.

              Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • G
                george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                last edited by george1421 Dec 15, 2020, 9:26 AM Dec 15, 2020, 3:24 PM

                @flareimp OK I see what it did. In the post it looks like “loglevel=4 mode=inventory deployed=1” is on a new line, but that needs to be part of the entire imgarg command. On the screen it wraps.

                Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 3:31 PM Reply Quote 0
                • F
                  FlareImp @george1421
                  last edited by Dec 15, 2020, 3:31 PM

                  @george1421 Okay, i deleted out the new line from loglevel=4 so its one string but am still seeing the output above. How do I call the URL your asking for?

                  G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 3:36 PM Reply Quote 0
                  • G
                    george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                    last edited by george1421 Dec 15, 2020, 9:36 AM Dec 15, 2020, 3:36 PM

                    @flareimp From a computer on the same network as your FOG server http://<fog_server_ip>/fog/service/ipxe/boot.php&mac=00:00:00:00:00:01 just replace <fog_server_ip> with the IP address of your fog server.

                    I guess I should also ask what version of FOG are you using?

                    Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                    F 2 Replies Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 3:38 PM Reply Quote 0
                    • F
                      FlareImp @george1421
                      last edited by FlareImp Dec 15, 2020, 9:39 AM Dec 15, 2020, 3:38 PM

                      @george1421 Okay, I did that and it just takes me to the fog web gui and has me log into the home screen.

                      I am running Ubuntu 16.04 with Fog 1.5.9

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • F
                        FlareImp @george1421
                        last edited by Dec 15, 2020, 4:00 PM

                        @george1421 If I delete the “&mac=00:00:00:00:00:01” part I get the following output

                        #!ipxe
                        set fog-ip 10.220.9.50
                        set fog-webroot fog
                        set boot-url http://${fog-ip}/${fog-webroot}
                        cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x86_64 || set arch i386
                        goto get_console
                        :console_set
                        colour --rgb 0x00567a 1 ||
                        colour --rgb 0x00567a 2 ||
                        colour --rgb 0x00567a 4 ||
                        cpair --foreground 7 --background 2 2 ||
                        goto MENU
                        :alt_console
                        cpair --background 0 1 ||
                        cpair --background 1 2 ||
                        goto MENU
                        :get_console
                        console --picture http://10.220.9.50/fog/service/ipxe/bg.png --left 100 --right 80 && goto console_set || goto alt_console
                        :MENU
                        menu
                        colour --rgb 0xff0000 0 ||
                        cpair --foreground 1 1 ||
                        cpair --foreground 0 3 ||
                        cpair --foreground 4 4 ||
                        item --gap Host is NOT registered!
                        item --gap -- -------------------------------------
                        item fog.local Boot from hard disk
                        item fog.memtest Run Memtest86+
                        item fog.reginput Perform Full Host Registration and Inventory
                        item fog.reg Quick Registration and Inventory
                        item fog.deployimage Deploy Image
                        item fog.multijoin Join Multicast Session
                        item fog.sysinfo Client System Information (Compatibility)
                        item fog.custom.inventory Custom Quick Inventory
                        choose --default fog.local --timeout 3000 target && goto ${target}
                        :fog.local
                        chain -ar ${boot-url}/service/ipxe/grub.exe --config-file="rootnoverify (hd0);chainloader +1" || goto MENU
                        :fog.memtest
                        kernel memdisk initrd=memtest.bin iso raw
                        initrd memtest.bin
                        boot || goto MENU
                        :fog.reginput
                        kernel bzImage32 loglevel=4 initrd=init_32.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=http://10.220.9.50/fog/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=10.220.9.50:/images/ storageip=10.220.9.50 nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=0 loglevel=4 mode=manreg
                        imgfetch init_32.xz
                        boot || goto MENU
                        :fog.reg
                        kernel bzImage32 loglevel=4 initrd=init_32.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=http://10.220.9.50/fog/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=10.220.9.50:/images/ storageip=10.220.9.50 nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=0 loglevel=4 mode=autoreg
                        imgfetch init_32.xz
                        boot || goto MENU
                        :fog.deployimage
                        login
                        params
                        param mac0 ${net0/mac}
                        param arch ${arch}
                        param username ${username}
                        param password ${password}
                        param qihost 1
                        isset ${net1/mac} && param mac1 ${net1/mac} || goto bootme
                        isset ${net2/mac} && param mac2 ${net2/mac} || goto bootme
                        param sysuuid ${uuid}
                        :fog.multijoin
                        login
                        params
                        param mac0 ${net0/mac}
                        param arch ${arch}
                        param username ${username}
                        param password ${password}
                        param sessionJoin 1
                        isset ${net1/mac} && param mac1 ${net1/mac} || goto bootme
                        isset ${net2/mac} && param mac2 ${net2/mac} || goto bootme
                        param sysuuid ${uuid}
                        :fog.sysinfo
                        kernel bzImage32 loglevel=4 initrd=init_32.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=http://10.220.9.50/fog/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=10.220.9.50:/images/ storageip=10.220.9.50 nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=0 loglevel=4 mode=sysinfo
                        imgfetch init_32.xz
                        boot || goto MENU
                        :fog.custom.inventory
                        kernel bzImage
                        imgfetch init.xz
                        imgargs loglevel=4 initrd=init.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=${boot-url}/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=${fog-ip}:/images/ storageip=${fog-ip} loglevel=4 mode=inventory deployed=1
                        boot|| goto MENU
                        param sysuuid ${uuid}
                        :bootme
                        chain -ar http://10.220.9.50/fog/service/ipxe/boot.php##params ||
                        goto MENU
                        autoboot
                        
                        G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 15, 2020, 4:54 PM Reply Quote 0
                        • G
                          george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                          last edited by george1421 Dec 15, 2020, 10:55 AM Dec 15, 2020, 4:54 PM

                          @flareimp said in Add Full Inventory Task to PXE Menu:

                          If we look at the FOG created menu for system info

                          :fog.sysinfo
                          kernel bzImage32 loglevel=4 initrd=init_32.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=http://10.220.9.50/fog/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=10.220.9.50:/images/ storageip=10.220.9.50 nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=0 loglevel=4 mode=sysinfo
                          imgfetch init_32.xz
                          boot || goto MENU
                          

                          And we look at the custom menu I initially provided they should match exactly except for a few changed parameters. This should work. I did notice in your menu item that boot and the double pipe symbols don’t have a space between.

                          :fog.custom.inventory
                          kernel bzImage loglevel=4 initrd=init.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=${boot-url}/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=${fog-ip}:/images/ storageip=${fog-ip} loglevel=4 mode=inventory deployed=1
                          imgfetch init.xz
                          boot|| goto MENU
                          

                          The bzImage32 and init_32.xz is just an artifact of calling the menu via a browser and can be ignored.

                          Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                          F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 2:15 PM Reply Quote 0
                          • F
                            FlareImp @george1421
                            last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 2:15 PM

                            @george1421 adding the space after the boot|| has gotten me farther now.

                            Now it is displaying Attempting to check in …Failed
                            Invalid MAC Address! (in line for )

                            G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 2:33 PM Reply Quote 0
                            • G
                              george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                              last edited by george1421 Dec 16, 2020, 8:35 AM Dec 16, 2020, 2:33 PM

                              @flareimp I didn’t want to confuse the subject so I didn’t initially include this.

                              When you schedule an inventory task this is the call to launch the FOS Linux client.

                              #!ipxe
                              set fog-ip 192.168.50.53
                              set fog-webroot fog
                              set boot-url https://${fog-ip}/${fog-webroot}
                              set storage-ip 192.168.50.53
                              kernel http://192.168.50.53/fog/service/ipxe/bzImage32 loglevel=4 initrd=init_32.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=https://192.168.50.53/fog/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 mdraid=true mac=00:00:00:87:c2:09 ftp=192.168.50.53 storage=192.168.50.53:/images/dev/ storageip=192.168.50.53 osid=9 irqpoll hostname=00000087c209 mode=inventory deployed=1 mdraid=true
                              imgfetch http://192.168.50.53/fog/service/ipxe/init_32.xz
                              boot
                              

                              What we are doing is simulating that call via an iPXE menu. I discarded the parameters above that shouldn’t be needed for a hardware inventory. I may have discarded too many. So I do see it passing the mac address during this invocation. Understand what we are doing is not using FOG as it was intended. It should work by YMMV.

                              So lets tweak the last command I gave you by adding in the mac address (there is room for this command it get it wrong if you have multiple nic adapters in the computer).

                              :fog.custom.inventory
                              kernel bzImage loglevel=4 initrd=init.xz root=/dev/ram0 rw ramdisk_size=275000 web=${boot-url}/ consoleblank=0 rootfstype=ext4 storage=${fog-ip}:/images/ storageip=${fog-ip} loglevel=4 mac=${net0/mac} mode=inventory deployed=1
                              imgfetch init.xz
                              boot|| goto MENU
                              

                              Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                              F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 2:39 PM Reply Quote 0
                              • F
                                FlareImp @george1421
                                last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 2:39 PM

                                @george1421 after adding your changes to the config now it is showing the hostname and mac but saying no task found. So would the next step be adding a command to create and start the inventory task?

                                G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 2:46 PM Reply Quote 0
                                • G
                                  george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                                  last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 2:46 PM

                                  @flareimp So it looks like this route isn’t possible to perform an immediate inventory since a task needs to be deployed on the FOG server. This appears to not be target computer driven. Sorry I should have tested it in my lab first. I know when you run a registration from the iPXE menu it also sends an inventory to the FOG server and that is target computer driven.

                                  Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                                  F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 2:52 PM Reply Quote 0
                                  • F
                                    FlareImp @george1421
                                    last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 2:52 PM

                                    @george1421 If I have a host that is not registered in fog and I choose to run the Full Inventory task from the PXE menu, can’t we do something similar to that with hosts that are already registered? I do remember back in the Fog .32 days it was possible.

                                    Thanks for all your assistance!

                                    G 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 3:04 PM Reply Quote 0
                                    • G
                                      george1421 Moderator @FlareImp
                                      last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 3:04 PM

                                      @flareimp said in Add Full Inventory Task to PXE Menu:

                                      can’t we do something similar to that with hosts that are already registered? I do remember back in the Fog .32 days it was possible.

                                      This was my initial thought as the inventory was driven by the client computer. But as we just confirmed this is no longer the case with FOG 1.5.9. With 1.5.9 a task has to be running on the fog server to start the inventory process.

                                      Does your environment use the FOG Client? If so that should also perform an inventory on some interval.

                                      Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                                      F 1 Reply Last reply Dec 16, 2020, 3:10 PM Reply Quote 0
                                      • F
                                        FlareImp @george1421
                                        last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 3:10 PM

                                        @george1421 Yes, all my computers are using the fog client, the issue is we are not allowed to set PXE as the first boot option, has to be the hard drive, so it negates the feature. I was just thinking instead of giving our Interns/temp help access to fog and starting inventory tasks from the web gui it would just be faster to PXE boot a computer and select “run inventory”.

                                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • S
                                          Sebastian Roth Moderator
                                          last edited by Dec 16, 2020, 5:13 PM

                                          @flareimp said in Add Full Inventory Task to PXE Menu:

                                          now it is showing the hostname and mac but saying no task found.

                                          I have to say that I never tried this myself yet and I am not really sure why inventory works when run with the full registration (AFAIK not a task) but otherwise needs a task scheduled. I might find some time to check this out on Friday.

                                          Would using the FOG API be of any help for you? You could schedule inventory tasks with that. Though someone would still need to manually PXE boot the machine.

                                          I don’t think we have inventory updates through the fog-client yet. It’s been discussed on github but is a little more complex as we’d want to have it work on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.

                                          Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                                          Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                          • 1
                                          • 2
                                          • 1 / 2
                                          1 / 2
                                          • First post
                                            12/24
                                            Last post

                                          172

                                          Online

                                          12.0k

                                          Users

                                          17.3k

                                          Topics

                                          155.2k

                                          Posts
                                          Copyright © 2012-2024 FOG Project