Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?



  • Server
    • FOG Version: 1.3.5
    • OS: Ubuntu 16.04
    Client
    • Service Version:
    • OS: Windows 10
    Description

    I’m trying to make an Master on Windows 10 Pro

    Its a fresh install, i pull windows update, after that reboot

    After reboot :

    -> Disable Fast start into Windows Power options
    -> mkdir C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts
    -> New SetupComplete.cmd into C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts
    My Script contain :

    del /Q /F c:\windows\system32\sysprep\Unattend.xml
    del /Q /F c:\windows\panther\Unattend.xml
    sc config FOGService start= auto
    shutdown -t 0 -r
    

    -> Copy Unattend.xml to c:\windows\system32\sysprep\

    Unattend.xml (All sensitives values are edited for public post)

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
        <settings pass="generalize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <SkipRearm>1</SkipRearm>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="specialize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <RunSynchronous>
                    <RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                        <Order>1</Order>
                        <Path>net user Administrateur /active:yes </Path>
                    </RunSynchronousCommand>
                </RunSynchronous>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
                <RegisteredOrganization>Micrososft</RegisteredOrganization>
                <RegisteredOwner>AutoBVT</RegisteredOwner>
                <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>
                <TimeZone>W. Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="oobeSystem">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>fr-FR</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>fr-FR</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>fr-FR</UserLocale>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <AutoLogon>
                    <Password>
                        <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADAAMAB0AFAAYQBzAHMAdwBvAHIAZAA=</Value>
                        <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                    </Password>
                    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
                    <LogonCount>5</LogonCount>
                    <Username>administrateur</Username>
                </AutoLogon>
                <FirstLogonCommands>
                    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                        <CommandLine>cscript //b c:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ipk #MY MAK KEY FOR WIN PRO#</CommandLine>
                        <Order>1</Order>
                        <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
                    </SynchronousCommand>
                    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                        <CommandLine>cscript //b c:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ato</CommandLine>
                        <Order>2</Order>
                        <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
                    </SynchronousCommand>
    		<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    		    <CommandLine>C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd</CommandLine>
    		    <Order>3</Order>
    		    <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
    		</SynchronousCommand>
                </FirstLogonCommands>
                <OOBE>
                    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                    <NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
                    <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
                </OOBE>
                <UserAccounts>
                    <AdministratorPassword>
                        <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADAAMAB0AEEAZABByAGEAdABvAHIAUABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                        <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                    </AdministratorPassword>
                    <LocalAccounts>
                        <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                            <Password>
                                <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADBzAHMAdwBvAHIAZAA=</Value>
                                <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                            </Password>
                            <DisplayName>Administrateur</DisplayName>
                            <Group>Administrateurs</Group>
                            <Name>Administrateur</Name>
                        </LocalAccount>
                    </LocalAccounts>
                </UserAccounts>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:c:/users/masterlocal/downloads/install.wim#Windows 10 Pro" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
    </unattend>
    
    

    -> I run administrator cmd : chkdsk /f C:
    -> reboot
    -> sysprep /generalize /oobe /shutdown /unattend:c:\windows\system32\sysprep\Unattend.xml

    I start capture IMG with this conf on new image :

    0_1500480590914_6146398c-8a3c-489a-8881-c7bcc1f45d07-image.png

    After this process when i try to boot after deploy (deploy works fine)on client i got an infinty loop :

    0_1500480875172_1b03f5cc-267c-4fda-aae0-dd8f7f95f8eb-image.png

    What i’m doing wrong ?

    Thanks for your help


  • Moderator

    @Tom-Elliott another FOG parameter. Not very clean but typically FOG will be installed in a unique local and not traverse across.

    Possibly also something in the language file to control what the system "thinks’ the system partition is called?


  • Developer

    @Tom-Elliott said in Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?:

    Seeing as differnt locale’s are changing the “label” of the drive to be locale specific, I don’t know of a way I can automate this.

    Current checks to define “fixed size” are: System Reserved or Recovery. While I could try adding more checks, the problems come in because I don’t know what is to be labelled, how and when. I know on the english side Reserved or Recovery will be used.

    Yeah, this is an issue and I can’t see how we can fix this from our side.


  • Senior Developer

    Seeing as differnt locale’s are changing the “label” of the drive to be locale specific, I don’t know of a way I can automate this.

    Current checks to define “fixed size” are: System Reserved or Recovery. While I could try adding more checks, the problems come in because I don’t know what is to be labelled, how and when. I know on the english side Reserved or Recovery will be used.



  • upgrade to fog 1.4.4 seems to have solved my problem thanks everybody

    nice jobs for fog project ! :)


  • Developer

    @laintimes Keep in mind that you need to manually edit that file every time you capture the master image again.



  • for fix : **The Attempting to check in error ** loop, after fog upgrade

    FOG Configuration -> FOG Setting -> Web Server and check the FOG_WEB_ROOT path

    In my case it was reset during the upgrade

    @Sebastian-Roth i’m capturing standalone windows 10 install i will try your tip


  • Developer

    @laintimes Please edit the file /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions by hand (e.g. using nano) and put in 1. This will leave the first partition untouched on resizing.

    Then deploy the image to one of your clients again and see if it boots properly.



  • for : ls -la /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/

    i got

    0_1500551973167_46f38045-9f12-4501-927f-c4904d58bfa8-image.png


  • Moderator

    @laintimes said in Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?:

    Can you provide the output of this command ls -la /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/ Your cat command should have returned something or imaging would have failed.

    The Attempting to check in error typically means that the fog server isn’t being addressed properly, like a setting is blank for the storage node IP (just guessing here).



  • myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ ll
    total 24
    drwxrwxrwx  6 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 jui 20 09:28 ../
    drwxrwxrwx  3 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 dev/
    -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postdownloadscripts/
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 15:41 WIN10X64STANDALONENOSYSPREP/
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/
    
    myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ cat /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions
    

    cat command return empty answer

    ======================================================

    i go another problem since upgrade fog to 1.4.4, i got loop when i try to capture :

    0_1500543731378_c60ac64c-56a4-4b52-9a8c-c2ecea100838-image.png

    I have check my conf :

    nano /etc/exports

    /images *(ro,sync,no_wdelay,no_subtree_check,insecure_locks,no_root_squash,insecure,fsid=0)
    /images/dev *(rw,async,no_wdelay,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,insecure,fsid=1)
    
    
    showmount -e
    Export list for SERV-FOG:
    /images/dev *
    /images     *
    
    sudo service rpcbind status
    ● rpcbind.service - RPC bind portmap service
       Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/rpcbind.service; indirect; vendor preset: enabled)
      Drop-In: /run/systemd/generator/rpcbind.service.d
               └─50-rpcbind-$portmap.conf
       Active: active (running) since jeu 2017-07-20 11:06:35 CEST; 25min ago
     Main PID: 1264 (rpcbind)
        Tasks: 1
       Memory: 732.0K
          CPU: 7ms
       CGroup: /system.slice/rpcbind.service
               └─1264 /sbin/rpcbind -f -w
    
    jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Starting RPC bind portmap service...
    jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG rpcbind[1264]: rpcbind: xdr_/run/rpcbind/rpcbind.xdr: failed
    jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG rpcbind[1264]: rpcbind: xdr_/run/rpcbind/portmap.xdr: failed
    jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Started RPC bind portmap service.
    
    sudo service nfs-kernel-server status
    ● nfs-server.service - NFS server and services
       Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/nfs-server.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
       Active: active (exited) since jeu 2017-07-20 11:23:57 CEST; 8min ago
      Process: 3293 ExecStopPost=/usr/sbin/exportfs -f (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
      Process: 3288 ExecStopPost=/usr/sbin/exportfs -au (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
      Process: 3283 ExecStop=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd 0 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
      Process: 3310 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd $RPCNFSDARGS (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
      Process: 3308 ExecStartPre=/usr/sbin/exportfs -r (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
     Main PID: 3310 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    
    jui 20 11:23:57 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Starting NFS server and services...
    jui 20 11:23:57 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Started NFS server and services.
    
    
    /images$ ll
    total 24
    drwxrwxrwx  6 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 jui 20 09:28 ../
    drwxrwxrwx  3 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 dev/
    -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postdownloadscripts/
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 15:41 WIN10X64STANDALONENOSYSPREP/
    drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/
    myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ cd dev/
    myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images/dev$ ll
    total 12
    drwxrwxrwx 3 fog root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
    drwxrwxrwx 6 fog root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ../
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 fog root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
    drwxrwxrwx 2 fog root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postinitscripts/
    
    ls -laR /images | grep .mntcheck
    -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 fog root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck
    
    
    

    I have try to restart service, reboot server, update /etc/exports, i got same issue


  • Moderator

    @Developers Didn’t we have an issue with the single disk resizable with FOG misidentifying the system or boot partition when the partition label wasn’t in english? Could that be the cause of the OP’s blue screen where FOG is thinking the system reserve is not fixed in size?


  • Developer

    @laintimes Ahh, now I guess I know what’s going wrong here. Please run the following command on your FOG server and post a picture of the output here: cat /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions



  • thanks for reply
    @george1421 I have updated fog to 1.4.4
    @Sebastian-Roth done all the procedure described above, I am at the stage just before sysprep, this is my partition setup :

    0_1500537195630_ac37ed49-4f9b-455c-b4e5-e4b519dd4d65-image.png


  • Developer

    @laintimes This has most likely to do with your partition setup not being standard. Still you can try using the latest initrd files (64 bit and 32 bit) as we have fixed a special case just a few weeks ago.

    Please post a picture of your partition setup (windows disk management) before capturing!


  • Moderator

    Upgrade FOG to 1.4.4 to start.

    Your overall process is inline with what we do at my company. But I’m pretty sure you will have better success with single disk resizable with 1.4.4. There was some bugs in 1.3.5 that kept the disks from expanding correctly. That issue was addressed in 1.4.1RC1.


Log in to reply
 

426
Online

39.3k
Users

11.0k
Topics

104.5k
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.