Gzip: stdin: not in gzip format... error on ubuntu server 12.04

• Hi all…

First of all im new to Linux so im struggling with the most basic stuff, but i guess you need to start somewhere right?..

The error:

after downloading fog_0.32.tar.gz from sourceforge using wget I can’t seem to unpack it using tar with the command “tar -xzf fog_0.32.tar.gz”. I get the error:

Gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
    tar: Child returned status 1
    tar: error is not recoverable: exiting now

what i have:

I have a vmware set up where i have installed a ubuntu server 12.04.

What i have tried:

I tried starting the tar command with sudu - did nothing
    Tried to install updates with the command “sudo apt-get update” and then run the tar command- did nothing
    Tried to install Build essentials using the command “sudo apt-get install build-essential” and then run the tar command - did nothing

I have downloaded the same tar file from sourceforge onto my windows 7 and unpacked it with winrar which went OK

I have reinstalled my ubuntu server and tried the above- did nothing

I have been on the net for hours to find a solution but from what i can see the error can mean anything. but i really don’t see what im missing…

I need some help here… im at a loss…

And since i condsider this a learning experince please don’t give me workaround…atleast not without and explenation as to why its not working… else i won’t learn anything…

Thanks!!

Casper

• Just to help out my fellow Foggers (couldn’t help myself) who might have the same issues this is what i did.

The problem was indeed that i didn’t have have vmware tools installed… I stopped trying to get that installed from VMware and tried virtualbox instead where i found solution.

Allso i went from Ubuntu to Fedora so this works for fedora …

In order to to install the VirtualAdditions in Fedora i used this guide:

[url]http://www.if-not-true-then-false.com/2010/install-virtualbox-guest-additions-on-fedora-centos-red-hat-rhel/[/url]