TFTP PXE-T01: File Not Found



  • Hi guys

    I realize that this issue is an old one, and many have fixed it before. But for some reason, I cannot? The DHCP is setup correctly on option 66 and 67 (Windows server obviously), and using TFTP client to retrieve undionly.kpxe works fine from my own Windows machine. I know this because I just changed it from pxelinux, because we ran 0.32 before.

    The FOG server is running Ubuntu 14.04 completely fresh install, with only FOG 1.2.0 installed. I got the webacces working fine so right now, from what I can see - the TFTP problem is all that stands in my way for now? This is my first FOG install, before this we had a version 0.32. I decided to start from scratch to be sure that W10 imaging would work properly. The Windows server has also just recently been updated/the service was restarted.

    Please help :O! I don’t think I have enough background knowledge on PXE and such to work from here… so your inputs would be greatly appreciated.

    • MadsMagnus


  • @george1421

    It is just a random VM machine running off a Dell server - not sure which kind. I just checked up on the machine this morning and it is still just at “bzImage …” with like a million dots by now…


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus Well that great you got the first part going.

    As for this new issue, you should create a new thread. But I am interested to know what hardware are you trying to boot? It sounds like you are getting through the iPXE kernel OK and now FOS (Fog linux OS) is not decompressing very well.



  • @george1421

    Okay so as a part of the webacces fix, i upgraded to version 7785. This clearly did the trick, as now the clients also seem to PXE boot properly. However now, as I am trying to do a registration of my W10 image, it is just stuck at “bzImage…” etc. The dots just seem to keep going. I will be leaving in a sec so I will see how it stands tomorrow. But I suppose I have to open another thread, as the issue has changed, correct? I would imagine we are seeing that the VMs NIC isn’t recognized by the base kernel.



  • @george1421 Will do. Thank you george.


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus OK start a new thread with that in the subject line. There are others who had the same issue. I know that Ubuntu 14.04 will work successfully with FOG 1.2.0 trunk. I was going to address the trunk upgrade later since the dhcp/tftp is not related to the version of FOG you are using ATM. Come back to this thread when you get the fog upgrade resolved.



  • @george1421

    Okay I will do that but… 1 thing at a time here. I just updated my fog to trunk by following the SVN wiki guide. Now my fog is broken/webacces does not work. When I try to reinstall it simply just ends at “Restarting Apache2 for fog vhost… Failed!”. I have tried restarting apache, mysql and tftpd-hpa with no succes. I remember updating via SVN broken my last attempt at FOG on Ubuntu 12 too.

    Strange huh? Somehow I dont think sniffing trafic is very useful atm :(


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus ok so you have option 66 and 67 set on both dhcp servers?

    The next step now that we know the actors involved is to get a network capture of the dhcp and tftp process. Just for a little background dhcp is a broadcast based protocol, so you can capture the dhcp conversation between the target computer and the dhcp server from any device connected to the same subnet/broadcast domain. So knowing this you could install wireshark on any computer set the filters for only dhcp (ports 67 and 68) and capture the dhcp traffic into a pcap file. Since we also have a question about tftp we can’t do this since tftp is a unicast call (from the target to the tftp server only), so with this in mind we need to install tcpdump on your FOG server (since it will be part of the tftp communications). So go ahead and install wireshark on your windows computers and tcpdump on your fog server.

    Now once tcpdump is installed what you will do is launch the tcpdump program and then boot the target computer until you get the file not found error and then you will abort the tcpdump program with a ctrl-C. That will produce the pcap file we need. Understand that this pcap file will contain all of the information you are issuing out via dhcp. Most of it is not a security concern, the only thing that one might take issue with is that your internal dns name will be in this file. So to ease your security concerns you should review the content of this pcap file with wireshark. I also challenge you to see if you can spot the problem. We know the actors involved now. So if you see a conversation with a device that is not a known actor or data that is being sent incorrectly you found the problem. Don’t worry if you can figure it out you can post your pcap file here so we can look at it.

    The tcpdump command you need is:
    tcpdump -w output.pcap port 67 or port 68 or port 69

    So this command will listen for any communication on port 67 (dhcp req) port 68 (dhcp answer), and port 69 (tftp) and output the results into the output.pcap file. This command will not capture any other traffic. When you have your output.pcap file you can either inspect it with wireshark if you want to see if you can figure out what is going on or post it here and one of us can take a look.



  • @george1421

    No problem. 10.0.1.14 is our redundant DNS/DHCP server. Its a part of the Windows server envoirment we have here.


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus said i:

    @george1421

    I think I have explained myself in a wrongful manner. What I mean is: The FOG settings are set up to use DHCP 10.0.1.10
    10.0.0.15 is FOG server

    Fair enough, understand I’m trying to get a picture of your environment. OK just to be clear for me 10.0.1.10 is your Windows DHCP server, then where does the 10.0.1.14 come into play?

    I need to leave in a minute for my commute into the office. So I’ll be off for about 1hr. We can get this worked out we just need to get all of the actors identified.



  • @george1421

    I think I have explained myself in a wrongful manner. What I mean is: The FOG settings are set up to use DHCP 10.0.1.10
    10.0.0.15 is FOG server


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus Sorry I think I missed something. You said you have a MS DHCP server, and now you have FOG setup as a dhcp server in the same broadcast domain? This is not a good idea at all. You should only have one dhcp server per subnet. Use either fog or your windows dhcp server.

    And just for confirmation 10.0.1.10 is your FOG server IP?

    Also if you are planning on win10 and uefi bios, you will want to run windows 2012 dhcp server since bois and uefi take different iPXE boot kernels. Windows 2012 dhcp has the capability to issue both kernels.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP PXE-T01: File Not Found:

    @MadsMagnus Ok great this shows the dhcp server and the target computer are in the same subnet and broadcast domain. (check #1)

    Is it safe to assume that 10.0.1.10 IS your windows dhcp server?

    The last bit is getting a screen shot of the dhcp settings. You can delete the picture you posted.

    FWIW: You can insert pictures directly into this forum too.

    Yeah I tried but it only did the thumbnail… rushed it ^^

    Yeah I am sure that the DHCP is 10.0.1.10 - I also setup FOG to run DHCP 10.0.1.10. We do however have a redundant DHCP on .14 - but that shouldnt change anything. The settings are setup for .10 and have been for over 24 hours, so the mirror settings should be 100% complete.


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus Ok great this shows the dhcp server and the target computer are in the same subnet and broadcast domain. (check #1)

    Is it safe to assume that 10.0.1.10 IS your windows dhcp server?

    The last bit is getting a screen shot of the dhcp settings. You can delete the picture you posted.
    dhcp 10.0.1.10
    gateway 10.0.1.1
    client 10.0.66.85
    subnet 2255.255.0.0

    FWIW: You can insert pictures directly into this forum too.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP PXE-T01: File Not Found:

    @MadsMagnus Yeah, I really need to SEE the bla bla stuff with real screen shot of your environment and dhcp settings and boot screen to put some context around what you are seeing.

    We may (eventually) to run a network capture program to grab the dhcp communications. But for now lets look at the obvious stuff.

    Alright then…

    IMG DELETED


  • Moderator

    @MadsMagnus Yeah, I really need to SEE the bla bla stuff with real screen shot of your environment and dhcp settings and boot screen to put some context around what you are seeing.

    We may (eventually) to run a network capture program to grab the dhcp communications. But for now lets look at the obvious stuff.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP PXE-T01: File Not Found:

    First let me start with a comment. If you are intending to use win10, gpt disks, or uefi firmware you will be better served by upgrading the 1.2.0 stable with the 1.2.0 trunk version. 1.2.0 stable doesn’t support what I previously mentioned very well.

    With that said, will you capture the error (pxe boot info) from the target computer with a mobile phone and post the picture here?

    Also could you post a screen grab of your dhcp option 66 and 67 settings?

    We’ll get this worked out. I won’t say your issue is common, but we see it frequently.

    Okay I will get to trunk ASAP. Thanks for the headsup.

    Option 66: undionly.kpxe
    Option 67: IP of my FOG server

    Client PXE boot error:
    Network boot from Intel E1000e
    Copyright © 2003-2008 VMware Inc.
    Copyright © 1997-2000 Intel Corporation

    CLIENT MAC DDR: BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA GUID: BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA
    CLIENT IP: BLA BLA BLA MASK: BLA BLA BLA DHCP IP: IP of DNSServer1
    GATEWAY IP: BLA BLA
    TFTP
    PXE-T01: File not found
    PXE-E3B: TTFTP Error - File Not found
    PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel PXE ROM


  • Moderator

    First let me start with a comment. If you are intending to use win10, gpt disks, or uefi firmware you will be better served by upgrading the 1.2.0 stable with the 1.2.0 trunk version. 1.2.0 stable doesn’t support what I previously mentioned very well.

    With that said, will you capture the error (pxe boot info) from the target computer with a mobile phone and post the picture here?

    Also could you post a screen grab of your dhcp option 66 and 67 settings?

    We’ll get this worked out. I won’t say your issue is common, but we see it frequently.


Log in to reply
 

423
Online

38953
Users

10704
Topics

101564
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.