IPxe Boot Error



  • Hi,

    I’m new on fog, so please, be patient. I’m a VM in VirtualBox with Ubuntu 14.04 64 bits in my laptop with Win8. I installed Fog 1.1.1 without any problems, apparently. In the network settings on VB, i’m using my ethernet port, which is connected to a TP-Link router, that have its DHCP enable.

    The fog webserver is running and I can access from my laptop. I (i…i…i…sorry, english isn’t my first language) add the MAC of another VM which doesn’t have any system, just boot from iPXE, that can get the ip from the router which i can also ping, from my laptop or the VM with ubuntu. The image was add too, with no problem.

    When i try to boot from the VM, without system, i get the following messages:

    net0: 08:00:27:99:A7:5D using 82540em on PCI00:03.0 (open)
    [Link:up, TX:27 TXE:0 RX:10698 RXE:10659]
    [RXE: 1 x “Error 0x44e6003 ([url]http://ipxe.org/440e6003[/url])”]
    [RXE: 1 x “The socket is not connected ([url]http://ipxe.org/380f6001[/url])”]
    DHCP (net 08:00:27:99:A7:5D)… ok
    net0: 192.168.3.101/255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.3.1
    Nothing to boot: No such file or directory ([url]http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b[/url])

    Maybe there’s something too obvious that i can see on all that error messages…i’m sorry about it. I have google since monday about it, but couldn’t make that work. I also try using on fedora20 in the same scenario, with the same result. I tried use an physical pc, using PXE on a Intel motherboard, which i can’t write the log right now.

    On the web page, when i add the mac of the VM that should receive the image, i got an error message saying: “Unable to resolve hostname”.

    I hope i made myself clear enough. Please, help!



  • Guys, one more thing.

    I created that VM with only 20gb, which is not enough for the “images”. I then add another VDH, mounted and give permissions. But when i try to used, changing the settings on the FOG GUI (Storage Management), i get a permission error, when i try to Download an “image”.

    What kind of permission i still need?



  • Guys, i have to leave work, i’m in home now.

    Tom, it was easier to print the result.

    Junkhacker, now i got, i think.

    Well, as i said, i made an upload from that physical computer from work, which create that folder with the name of the image a put on the Image Management settings, that is the Fedora-Live, on the image here.

    [url="/_imported_xf_attachments/1/1032_Ubuntu.png?:"]Ubuntu.png[/url]


  • Developer

    [quote=“FelipeF, post: 31032, member: 24714”]Welll…just sorry again, haha. I completely misunderstood that part. funny thing is, the first thing i did, was “Upload” a task to the physical computer, that i thought was going to upload an image. Probably already it’s an usable “image”, right ? There’s an folder on the image directory with the name of the iso.[/quote]

    in fog’s terminology, you upload images to the server, you download images to the client


  • Senior Developer

    What’s the output of these commands?
    [code]cd /images/ubuntu-14.04-desktop-amd64.iso/
    ls -lhart[/code]



  • Welll…just sorry again, haha. I completely misunderstood that part. funny thing is, the first thing i did, was “Upload” a task to the physical computer, that i thought was going to upload an image. Probably already it’s an usable “image”, right ? There’s an folder on the image directory with the name of the iso.


  • Senior Developer

    FelipeF,

    FOG does not install “images” from an ISO.

    FOG Creates a Clone of an already existing system.



  • Yes, i have. Sorry, i should have said that before. I have created a Image, on the Image Management option, It’s a Ubuntu 14.04, the same i use to create the VM. It is on the Default storage, which i didn’t change any settings, aside the password.
    Operating System as Linux
    Image Path as Images/ubuntu-14.04-desktop-amd64.iso ( i also check the permissions of this file )
    Image Type as Multiple Partition Image - Single Disk

    I then created a task Download which, if i didn’t get that wrong, will install that image on the host i chose.


  • Senior Developer

    So you haven’t created an image yet?



  • You mean, on the images folder ? There’s two .iso there.


  • Senior Developer

    Is there an OS to deploy to the system?



  • Guys, it works! Maybe it was the both DHCP running at the same time.

    Now, on the physical machine, the installation is already running, but on the VM, it’s stoped on “Restoring MB and GRUB”. It’s get done, the VM is rebooted and the message “No bootable disk” appears, like there’s no OS to boot.



  • Junkhacker, but if disable the router’s dhcp, the fog’s dhcp should recognize the VM somehow, what doesn’t happen. Also, where i can edit the fog’s dhcp settings ?


  • Developer

    if there is more then 1 dhcp service running, that can definitely be a problem



  • Yes, it’s the FOG GUI.

    The VM’s NIC is bridged.

    Something comes to mind. In the fog install, i let the FOG’s DHCP enable, maybe there’s some kind of conflict with both DHCPs? From the router and FOG ?

    I also had disable the firewall from the router.


  • Senior Developer

    [quote=“FelipeF, post: 30980, member: 24714”]Hi,

    I’m new on fog, so please, be patient. I’m a VM in VirtualBox with Ubuntu 14.04 64 bits in my laptop with Win8. I installed Fog 1.1.1 without any problems, apparently. In the network settings on VB, i’m using my ethernet port, which is connected to a TP-Link router, that have its DHCP enable.

    The fog webserver is running and I can access from my laptop. I (i…i…i…sorry, english isn’t my first language) add the MAC of another VM which doesn’t have any system, just boot from iPXE, that can get the ip from the router which i can also ping, from my laptop or the VM with ubuntu. The image was add too, with no problem.[/quote]

    I’m assuming all of this you did from the FOG Web GUI?

    [quote=“FelipeF, post: 30980, member: 24714”]When i try to boot from the VM, without system, i get the following messages:

    net0: 08:00:27:99:A7:5D using 82540em on PCI00:03.0 (open)
    [Link:up, TX:27 TXE:0 RX:10698 RXE:10659]
    [RXE: 1 x “Error 0x44e6003 ([url]http://ipxe.org/440e6003[/url])”]
    [RXE: 1 x “The socket is not connected ([url]http://ipxe.org/380f6001[/url])”]
    DHCP (net 08:00:27:99:A7:5D)… ok
    net0: 192.168.3.101/255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.3.1
    Nothing to boot: No such file or directory ([url]http://ipxe.org/2d03e13b[/url])[/quote]

    The VM’s NIC, is it set to Bridged or NAT?

    [quote=“FelipeF, post: 30980, member: 24714”]Maybe there’s something too obvious that i can see on all that error messages…i’m sorry about it. I have google since monday about it, but couldn’t make that work. I also try using on fedora20 in the same scenario, with the same result. I tried use an physical pc, using PXE on a Intel motherboard, which i can’t write the log right now.

    On the web page, when i add the mac of the VM that should receive the image, i got an error message saying: “Unable to resolve hostname”.

    I hope i made myself clear enough. Please, help![/quote]

    Based on what I’m seeing it appears to me the network isn’t not allowing the pass of information as it’s being redirected to the VM Internal Switch which can’t pass back to the MAIN network in such a manner.


Log in to reply
 

433
Online

38996
Users

10715
Topics

101725
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.