• Hi,

    Just wanted to know best practices on deleting hosts. We have some old hosts in our database and want to get rid of most of them but not all. Recommendations? If I delete a computer that is registered to fog what a the downfalls? I look at this as imaging and after is communicating but my concern is user logging in and causing issues with our setup/production/network. I don’t want to cause big issues but I have heard of users deleting hosts after every summer. We are a school of about 1500. We are on version 1.5.5 Thanks for any info you may have or reccomendations you have. Thanks

  • Moderator

    @bmick10 said in Deleting Hosts:

    If I delete a device that is still in production on the network. It will not remove from domain or lose connection?

    Correct. The only impact to the target computer is that if the fog client is installed on the target computer it will no longer get instructions from the FOG server. The FOG Client will be abandoned with no instructions.

    If I have a machine named ittech20 and remove that from database when I restart in pxe will the computer still be named ittech20.

    Yes the computer will remain untouched. The only thing you will notice is that in the fog iPXE menu the computer will appear as unregistered.

    So if I delete all of them since the machine still has service running on will it talk back to server and sync to database?

    If the FOG Client is installed on the machine but they are no longer in the database the FOG Client should reregister the computer. Now that I think about it. BUT they will be registered in a pending state and must be approved before you can work with them in the FOG Gui. Its been a while since I did this part so its not as clear in my mind. But they should go into the database again in a pending state.


  • @george1421 If I delete a device that is still in production on the network. It will not remove from domain or lose connection? Also, if I have a machine named ittech20 and remove that from database when I restart in pxe will the computer still be named ittech20. So if I delete all of them since the machine still has service running on will it talk back to server and sync to database? Just trying to decide if I want to dump all of them? I get it has not affect much but want to make sure before I delete hosts. thanks

  • Moderator

    There is no negative impact of deleting a host. The only thing that is removed is the metadata saved in the database. It will not remove any images or such. All history and inventory items associated with that host will also be deleted.

    If you have a specific concern please ask.

355
Online

8.6k
Users

15.3k
Topics

143.5k
Posts