• Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Recent
    • Unsolved
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Groups
    • Search

    Unsolved CPU maxed when Storage nodes go down

    FOG Problems
    2
    11
    358
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • J
      jherron last edited by

      I have a 2 fold issue.

      1st is if one of my storage nodes goes down or cant connect to the server my server cpu maxes out. im not sure why and its a bit frustrating because of my next issue:
      My fog server says it cant connect to 2 of my storage nodes even though they are up, i can SSH into them, and i have restated them and the server. but the frustrating part is i cant really dig into the logs because the web GUI is mostly unresponsive.

      im running
      Fog 1.5
      Cent OS 7

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • S
        Sebastian Roth Moderator last edited by

        @jherron The information is split in two different tables. Host information and MAC information. So you need to commands to clean that host’s information from the database:

        mysql> DELETE FROM hostMAC WHERE hmHostID = 1272;
        ...
        mysql> DELETE FROM hosts WHERE hostID = 1272;
        ...
        

        But I still wonder why we only see one entry while FOG seems to find duplicates. Would you be keen enough to add some more error output to the PHP code so we see which MAC it sees as duplicated? If yes, I should be able to help you with the code. Let me know.

        Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

        Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • J
          jherron @Sebastian Roth last edited by Sebastian Roth

          @Sebastian-Roth
          apparently i did not put the mac in properly. after hacing unintsalled the one who ip address was in the error log ther is still one in the DB

          Welcome to the MariaDB monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
          Your MariaDB connection id is 14046881
          Server version: 5.5.56-MariaDB MariaDB Server
          
          Copyright (c) 2000, 2017, Oracle, MariaDB Corporation Ab and others.
          
          Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.
          
          MariaDB [(none)]> use fog;
          Reading table information for completion of table and column names
          You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A
          
          Database changed
          MariaDB [fog]> SELECT * FROM hostMAC WHERE hmMAC LIKE '%C8:D7:19:C2:E3:24%';
          +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
          | hmID | hmHostID | hmMAC             | hmDesc | hmPrimary | hmPending | hmIgnoreClient | hmIgnoreImaging |
          +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
          | 1317 |     1272 | c8:d7:19:c2:e3:24 |        | 1         |           |                |                 |
          +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
          1 row in set (0.01 sec)
          
          MariaDB [fog]>
          

          how would i go removing it from the DB? quickly looking through i might have others as well

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • S
            Sebastian Roth Moderator last edited by Sebastian Roth

            @jherron said:

            SELECT * FROM hostMAC WHERE hmMAC LIKE ‘%aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff%’;

            Did you actually put in the client’s MAC address here?

            am i just not throwing enough resources at this or is something fundamentally wrong with my setup?

            Well it’s like asking my car is not driving properly, what is wrong with it. We cannot answer but just guess if we don’t know much about your setup yet. One thing that I could think of is many clients (FOG client installed) check into the FOG server and if there are many clients it can cause that kind of issue.

            You might want to set FOG_CLIENT_CHECKIN_TIME (web UI -> FOG Configuration -> FOG Settings -> FOG Client).

            As well see if the mysql max_connection setting is back to 151. As I wrote in this thread the setting is lost when you restart mysql or the whole server [ref].

            PS: I still think there might be something wrong with the DB on top of the load.

            Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

            Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

            J 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • J
              jherron last edited by

              @Sebastian-Roth said in CPU maxed when Storage nodes go down:

              SELECT * FROM hostMAC WHERE hmMAC LIKE ‘%aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff%’;

              i ran the command and it comes up empty set again. the only thing different between now and then was i had uninstalled the client on that machine. its still maxed out utilization though.

              i have also noticed that during the hours when no one is in CPU utilization is really low. am i just not throwing enough resources at this or is something fundamentally wrong with my setup?

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • S
                Sebastian Roth Moderator last edited by

                @jherron Hmmm, so let’s look at it form a different angle. In the logs we always see the same client causing this messages: 10.0.60.38
                I guess this host is properly registered. Can you please find this host’s MAC address and see if you can find that in the DB (put in where you see the aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff - but leaving % in place):

                mysql> use fog;
                
                mysql> SELECT * FROM hostMAC WHERE hmMAC LIKE '%aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff%';
                +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
                | hmID | hmHostID | hmMAC             | hmDesc | hmPrimary | hmPending | hmIgnoreClient | hmIgnoreImaging |
                +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
                |    2 |        2 | aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff |        | 1         |           |                |                 |
                +------+----------+-------------------+--------+-----------+-----------+----------------+-----------------+
                mysql> SELECT * FROM hostMAC WHERE hmHostID = 2;
                ...
                

                Just trying to gather more information about this host that seems to be causing the messages (and possibly the load).

                Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • J
                  jherron last edited by Sebastian Roth

                  [btsdit@localhost ~]$ mysql -u root
                  Welcome to the MariaDB monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
                  Your MariaDB connection id is 1831044
                  Server version: 5.5.56-MariaDB MariaDB Server
                  
                  Copyright (c) 2000, 2017, Oracle, MariaDB Corporation Ab and others.
                  
                  Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.
                  
                  MariaDB [(none)]> use fog;
                  Reading table information for completion of table and column names
                  You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A
                  
                  Database changed
                  MariaDB [fog]> desc hostMAC;
                  +-----------------+---------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
                  | Field           | Type          | Null | Key | Default | Extra          |
                  +-----------------+---------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
                  | hmID            | int(11)       | NO   | PRI | NULL    | auto_increment |
                  | hmHostID        | int(11)       | NO   | MUL | NULL    |                |
                  | hmMAC           | varchar(59)   | NO   | UNI | NULL    |                |
                  | hmDesc          | longtext      | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
                  | hmPrimary       | enum('0','1') | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
                  | hmPending       | enum('0','1') | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
                  | hmIgnoreClient  | enum('0','1') | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
                  | hmIgnoreImaging | enum('0','1') | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
                  +-----------------+---------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
                  8 rows in set (0.03 sec)
                  
                  MariaDB [fog]> SELECT COUNT(hmMAC),hmID,hmHostID,hmMAC from hostMAC GROUP BY hmMAC HAVING COUNT(hmMAC)>1;
                  Empty set (0.03 sec)
                  
                  MariaDB [fog]> quit
                  

                  Bye

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • S
                    Sebastian Roth Moderator last edited by

                    @jherron Great you posted that log. The error message Error multiple hosts returned for list of mac addresses points us to the fact that you have several hosts in the DB with the same MAC address. Let’s see if we can figure out which ones are duplicate:

                    shell> mysql -u root -p
                    Password:
                    ...
                    mysql> use fog;
                    ...
                    mysql> desc hostMAC;
                    ...
                    mysql> SELECT COUNT(hmMAC),hmID,hmHostID,hmMAC from hostMAC GROUP BY hmMAC HAVING COUNT(hmMAC)>1;
                    ...
                    mysql> quit
                    

                    Please copy the full text output and post in the forums so we can have a look. Hope I got the queries all right as I can’t actually replicate the duplicate issue.

                    Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                    Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • J
                      jherron last edited by

                      0_1537223105054_new_error_log.txt

                      apparently it was too large so i cut it down to this. but it should get the messge across.

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • S
                        Sebastian Roth Moderator last edited by

                        @jherron Picture was not uploaded properly. You need to wait till you actually see the picture in the preview on the right.

                        Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                        Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • J
                          jherron last edited by

                          UPDATE
                          i was able to throw another vcpu at the box and got it to less than 100% utilization. looks like all the dbs connected. i can see anything wrong with the main server but i do have a BUNCH of apache errors that i do not understand.[0_1537200874571_error_log](Uploading 100%)

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • 1 / 1
                          • First post
                            Last post

                          76
                          Online

                          10.4k
                          Users

                          16.4k
                          Topics

                          150.5k
                          Posts

                          Copyright © 2012-2023 FOG Project