• Recent
  • Unsolved
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Recent
  • Unsolved
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login

Registration of Hosts With Multiple NICs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Solved
FOG Problems
3
19
2.3k
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • G
    george1421 Moderator @Sbergeron
    last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 2:42 PM

    @sbergeron Did you manually register this host or registered it via the quick or full registration?

    Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

    S 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 2:44 PM Reply Quote 0
    • S
      Sbergeron @george1421
      last edited by Sbergeron Jan 16, 2018, 8:52 AM Jan 16, 2018, 2:44 PM

      @george1421 Tried each one, got the same result. Also, when doing full registration/quick registration if I register it twice (delete host and re-register) it gives the exact same mac address each time.

      At this point I’m super stumped, because it would kind of require a host defining itself based on two different mac addresses in two different places

      G 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 2:49 PM Reply Quote 0
      • G
        george1421 Moderator @Sbergeron
        last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 2:49 PM

        @sbergeron Hmmm, something is not matching up here. It quite possibly be that there are so many mac addresses in that system its confusing FOG. I can’t see how at the moment. Can you confirm that the mac address that is registered in FOG is the mac address for the network adapter in question?

        Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

        S 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 2:53 PM Reply Quote 0
        • S
          Sbergeron @george1421
          last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 2:53 PM

          @george1421 Yes, it is the mac address of the first port on the integrated 10Gbit SFP+ NIC

          G 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 2:59 PM Reply Quote 0
          • G
            george1421 Moderator @Sbergeron
            last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 2:59 PM

            @sbergeron ok give me a few minutes to come up with a sql query. We need to ensure that the mac address is actually being recorded correctly in the database.

            Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

            S 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 3:06 PM Reply Quote 1
            • S
              Sbergeron @george1421
              last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 3:06 PM

              @george1421 What’s odd is if we register it with the 1gig interface enabled, then disable it afterwards, it PXE boots just fine and shows as registered.

              G 2 Replies Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 3:43 PM Reply Quote 0
              • G
                george1421 Moderator @Sbergeron
                last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 3:43 PM

                @sbergeron See that is what I was referring to with the multiple interfaces. What is going on is that iPXE (the tool that creates the boot menu) is/only looks at the first two mac addresses in the device.

                (correction, it looks at the fist three interfaces) ref: https://github.com/FOGProject/fogproject/blob/master/src/ipxe/src/ipxescript

                I’m still not sure how its getting to the iPXE menu at this point, because if all of the first 3 interfaces do not get an IP address then it should error out.

                as for the sql statement, I don’t think we need it at this point but I’ll document it here just in case.

                Select h.hostName, m.hmMAC, length(m.hmMAC) from hosts h left join hostMAC m on h.hostID=m.hmHostID where h.hostName='<name of host>';
                

                Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                • G
                  george1421 Moderator @Sbergeron
                  last edited by george1421 Jan 16, 2018, 10:11 AM Jan 16, 2018, 3:55 PM

                  @sbergeron Well I think I know why its messing up, but we may need to get a developer in the mix here to fix it. It can be fixed its just going to take some noodling.

                  [for developers] @Developers
                  In the ipxe script that is in the ipxe boot kernel it tries net0-net2 to get a dhcp address failing that it ties dhcp all, which is where its probably getting an IP address on the net3-net7 interfaces. Then it chains to default.ipxe

                  In default.ipxe it executes this ipxe script:

                  #!ipxe
                  cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x86_64 || set arch i386
                  params
                  param mac0 ${net0/mac}
                  param arch ${arch}
                  param platform ${platform}
                  param product ${product}
                  param manufacturer ${product}
                  param ipxever ${version}
                  param filename ${filename}
                  isset ${net1/mac} && param mac1 ${net1/mac} || goto bootme
                  isset ${net2/mac} && param mac2 ${net2/mac} || goto bootme
                  :bootme
                  chain http://<fog_server_ip>/fog/service/ipxe/boot.php##params
                  

                  Where again it only looks at net0-net2. I think to fix this we need to make mac0 be the interface that is actually getting the IP address and not just the first network interface detected. I realize this is a rare case where we have a device that has more than 3 mac addresses being returned. But if it happened once, it will happen again (IMO).

                  Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                  • S
                    Sbergeron
                    last edited by Jan 16, 2018, 4:04 PM

                    Well, looks like we have our answer.

                    We’re currently just having a couple people go through the servers and disable that first NIC but if this gets resolved before we get more servers that’s a fine solution for me.

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • S
                      Sebastian Roth Moderator
                      last edited by Sebastian Roth Jan 16, 2018, 11:35 AM Jan 16, 2018, 5:35 PM

                      @Sbergeron This sounds very interesting. Can you explain in more detail! I still don’t really get what is going wrong here.

                      We PXE booted from the same interface each time, and the unregistered mac address is the same as the registered one. […] It shows the same mac address it was registered with and succeeded in PXE booting from.

                      This just doesn’t add up for me. Looking forward to hear what’s going on. 🙂

                      Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                      Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                      G 1 Reply Last reply Jan 16, 2018, 5:59 PM Reply Quote 0
                      • G
                        george1421 Moderator @Sebastian Roth
                        last edited by george1421 Jan 16, 2018, 12:00 PM Jan 16, 2018, 5:59 PM

                        @sebastian-roth While I can’t speak to what the OP is seeing, I think I understand what is happening.

                        The OP has a server with 6 network interfaces. (2) 1GbE on the mobo, (2) 10G on a riser card and (4) 1GbE on another card (the counts are right the location are guesses). So that is 6 mac addresses. Not knowing the order iPXE and FOS find the actual mac addresses, but lets say the 5th network adapter is actually plugged into their business network. The ipxe environments only look at the first 3 mac addresses. It never attempts to query the 5th network card to see if it is valid.

                        I did a little thinking on this over lunch and I think this script (replacing the default.ipxe for this OP only) will get us started. I can tell you that it will not work in its current state (probably) and I haven’t had time to even debug it, but here is the idea.

                        #!ipxe
                        set fogip 192.168.1.50
                        set idx:int32 0
                        set bmac ${net0/mac}
                        
                        :nettest
                          isset ${net${idx}.dhcp/ip:ipv4} || goto nexttest
                          ping --count 1 ${fogip} || goto nexttest
                          set bmac ${net${idx}/mac}
                          goto nettestdone
                        
                        :nexttest
                          inc idx
                          iseq ${idx} 10 || goto nettest
                        :nettestdone
                        
                        cpuid --ext 29 && set arch x86_64 || set arch i386
                        params
                        param mac0 ${bmac}
                        param arch ${arch}
                        param platform ${platform}
                        param product ${product}
                        param manufacturer ${product}
                        param ipxever ${version}
                        param filename ${filename}
                        isset ${net1/mac} && param mac1 ${net1/mac} || goto bootme
                        isset ${net2/mac} && param mac2 ${net2/mac} || goto bootme
                        :bootme
                        chain http://${fogip}/fog/service/ipxe/boot.php##params
                        

                        Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • S
                          Sebastian Roth Moderator
                          last edited by Sebastian Roth Jan 16, 2018, 12:19 PM Jan 16, 2018, 6:18 PM

                          @george1421 On the one side I really like your idea. But then I am wondering how often this extra thing will cause problems to other users maybe cause ICMP is blocked or what not. Don’t get me wrong. I am not saying we shouldn’t implement this.

                          Mind opening an issue on github for this to discuss this?

                          Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                          Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                          • S
                            Sebastian Roth Moderator
                            last edited by Jan 21, 2018, 10:30 AM

                            @Sbergeron Talked to George about this in chat an I think his point on adjusting /tftpboot/default.ipxe script could help in this particular case. So you might want to give this a try. Please let us know if that works instead of disabling the other network cards.

                            Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                            Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • S
                              Sebastian Roth Moderator
                              last edited by Jan 29, 2018, 8:23 PM

                              I’ll mark this solved as it seems like the issue was fixed by disabling the other NICs.

                              Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                              Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • 1 / 1
                              • First post
                                Last post

                              232

                              Online

                              12.0k

                              Users

                              17.3k

                              Topics

                              155.2k

                              Posts
                              Copyright © 2012-2024 FOG Project