Roll back Clients?



  • Hello,

    I installed Fog the first time and now I have a question. I can create a full image and also deploy it to an other PC. Fine… But if I change something on the PC (install a new software, create files…) is it possible to rollback the system to the default settings, without deploying the whole image again?

    Thanks
    Sarah


  • Senior Developer

    And I say again, FOG doesn’t do this natively. How you configure your machines is how you configure them. FOG Just captures a replica of the hard drive. It will deploy that replica to many other systems.


  • Moderator

    @sarahw There’s also these other options too for hard disk freezing/locking software:

    deep-freeze by Faronics
    SmartShield by Centurion

    I have experience with both of those above products, both are great. The support from Faronics is not very good though unless you can manage to get an engineer or developer on the phone.



  • @x23piracy said in Roll back Clients?:

    Hi,

    afai understand the op is asking for something like hdd sheriff does:
    https://www.schwarz-distribution.de/en_US/pc-sheriff/
    He want that any change has been made to the system will be rolled back with next start.

    The answer is no, this is not what fog is intended for, you need to deploy your image again or use third partie software to gain your goal.

    Regards X23

    That’s it… Sorry for my bad english. Ok thanks for the answer!



  • Hi,

    afai understand the op is asking for something like hdd sheriff does:
    https://www.schwarz-distribution.de/en_US/pc-sheriff/
    He want that any change has been made to the system will be rolled back with next start.

    The answer is no, this is not what fog is intended for, you need to deploy your image again or use third partie software to gain your goal.

    Regards X23



  • No… thats not the point. What I mean is

    1. You deployed the image created with Fog to an other PC
    2. You changed something on this PC… Install Software and create files
    3. You want to roll back the PC (for the next user - working at school) to the configuration before something was changed on the system

    Therefore I need to know if this is possible without installing the complete image again. Can FOG recognize the changes on the PC and only delete them?


  • Senior Developer

    I don’t know that I understand the question. However you configure the image to begin with is up to you. All FOG does is capture the state of that configuration and allows you to apply that configuration to other systems. As far as change states in windows and rolling back, that’s in the OS configuration itself.


Log in to reply
 

399
Online

39.3k
Users

11.0k
Topics

104.4k
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.