• Recent
    • Unsolved
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Groups
    • Search
    • Register
    • Login

    Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Solved
    Windows Problems
    4
    16
    4.7k
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • L
      laintimes
      last edited by laintimes

      Server
      • FOG Version: 1.3.5
      • OS: Ubuntu 16.04
      Client
      • Service Version:
      • OS: Windows 10
      Description

      I’m trying to make an Master on Windows 10 Pro

      Its a fresh install, i pull windows update, after that reboot

      After reboot :

      -> Disable Fast start into Windows Power options
      -> mkdir C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts
      -> New SetupComplete.cmd into C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts
      My Script contain :

      del /Q /F c:\windows\system32\sysprep\Unattend.xml
      del /Q /F c:\windows\panther\Unattend.xml
      sc config FOGService start= auto
      shutdown -t 0 -r
      

      -> Copy Unattend.xml to c:\windows\system32\sysprep\

      Unattend.xml (All sensitives values are edited for public post)

      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
          <settings pass="generalize">
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <SkipRearm>1</SkipRearm>
              </component>
          </settings>
          <settings pass="specialize">
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <RunSynchronous>
                      <RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                          <Order>1</Order>
                          <Path>net user Administrateur /active:yes </Path>
                      </RunSynchronousCommand>
                  </RunSynchronous>
              </component>
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
              </component>
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
                  <RegisteredOrganization>Micrososft</RegisteredOrganization>
                  <RegisteredOwner>AutoBVT</RegisteredOwner>
                  <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>
                  <TimeZone>W. Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>
              </component>
          </settings>
          <settings pass="oobeSystem">
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <InputLocale>fr-FR</InputLocale>
                  <SystemLocale>fr-FR</SystemLocale>
                  <UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>
                  <UserLocale>fr-FR</UserLocale>
              </component>
              <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                  <AutoLogon>
                      <Password>
                          <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADAAMAB0AFAAYQBzAHMAdwBvAHIAZAA=</Value>
                          <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                      </Password>
                      <Enabled>true</Enabled>
                      <LogonCount>5</LogonCount>
                      <Username>administrateur</Username>
                  </AutoLogon>
                  <FirstLogonCommands>
                      <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                          <CommandLine>cscript //b c:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ipk #MY MAK KEY FOR WIN PRO#</CommandLine>
                          <Order>1</Order>
                          <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
                      </SynchronousCommand>
                      <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                          <CommandLine>cscript //b c:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ato</CommandLine>
                          <Order>2</Order>
                          <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
                      </SynchronousCommand>
      		<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
      		    <CommandLine>C:\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd</CommandLine>
      		    <Order>3</Order>
      		    <RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
      		</SynchronousCommand>
                  </FirstLogonCommands>
                  <OOBE>
                      <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                      <NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
                      <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
                  </OOBE>
                  <UserAccounts>
                      <AdministratorPassword>
                          <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADAAMAB0AEEAZABByAGEAdABvAHIAUABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                          <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                      </AdministratorPassword>
                      <LocalAccounts>
                          <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                              <Password>
                                  <Value>QgBAAHIAZQBmADBzAHMAdwBvAHIAZAA=</Value>
                                  <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                              </Password>
                              <DisplayName>Administrateur</DisplayName>
                              <Group>Administrateurs</Group>
                              <Name>Administrateur</Name>
                          </LocalAccount>
                      </LocalAccounts>
                  </UserAccounts>
              </component>
          </settings>
          <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:c:/users/masterlocal/downloads/install.wim#Windows 10 Pro" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
      </unattend>
      
      

      -> I run administrator cmd : chkdsk /f 😄
      -> reboot
      -> sysprep /generalize /oobe /shutdown /unattend:c:\windows\system32\sysprep\Unattend.xml

      I start capture IMG with this conf on new image :

      0_1500480590914_6146398c-8a3c-489a-8881-c7bcc1f45d07-image.png

      After this process when i try to boot after deploy (deploy works fine)on client i got an infinty loop :

      0_1500480875172_1b03f5cc-267c-4fda-aae0-dd8f7f95f8eb-image.png

      What i’m doing wrong ?

      Thanks for your help

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • george1421G
        george1421 Moderator
        last edited by

        Upgrade FOG to 1.4.4 to start.

        Your overall process is inline with what we do at my company. But I’m pretty sure you will have better success with single disk resizable with 1.4.4. There was some bugs in 1.3.5 that kept the disks from expanding correctly. That issue was addressed in 1.4.1RC1.

        Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • S
          Sebastian Roth Moderator
          last edited by

          @laintimes This has most likely to do with your partition setup not being standard. Still you can try using the latest initrd files (64 bit and 32 bit) as we have fixed a special case just a few weeks ago.

          Please post a picture of your partition setup (windows disk management) before capturing!

          Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

          Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • L
            laintimes
            last edited by laintimes

            thanks for reply
            @george1421 I have updated fog to 1.4.4
            @Sebastian-Roth done all the procedure described above, I am at the stage just before sysprep, this is my partition setup :

            0_1500537195630_ac37ed49-4f9b-455c-b4e5-e4b519dd4d65-image.png

            george1421G 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • S
              Sebastian Roth Moderator
              last edited by Sebastian Roth

              @laintimes Ahh, now I guess I know what’s going wrong here. Please run the following command on your FOG server and post a picture of the output here: cat /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions

              Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

              Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • george1421G
                george1421 Moderator @laintimes
                last edited by

                @Developers Didn’t we have an issue with the single disk resizable with FOG misidentifying the system or boot partition when the partition label wasn’t in english? Could that be the cause of the OP’s blue screen where FOG is thinking the system reserve is not fixed in size?

                Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • L
                  laintimes
                  last edited by laintimes

                  myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ ll
                  total 24
                  drwxrwxrwx  6 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
                  drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 jui 20 09:28 ../
                  drwxrwxrwx  3 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 dev/
                  -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postdownloadscripts/
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 15:41 WIN10X64STANDALONENOSYSPREP/
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/
                  
                  myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ cat /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions
                  

                  cat command return empty answer

                  ======================================================

                  i go another problem since upgrade fog to 1.4.4, i got loop when i try to capture :

                  0_1500543731378_c60ac64c-56a4-4b52-9a8c-c2ecea100838-image.png

                  I have check my conf :

                  nano /etc/exports

                  /images *(ro,sync,no_wdelay,no_subtree_check,insecure_locks,no_root_squash,insecure,fsid=0)
                  /images/dev *(rw,async,no_wdelay,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,insecure,fsid=1)
                  
                  
                  showmount -e
                  Export list for SERV-FOG:
                  /images/dev *
                  /images     *
                  
                  sudo service rpcbind status
                  ● rpcbind.service - RPC bind portmap service
                     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/rpcbind.service; indirect; vendor preset: enabled)
                    Drop-In: /run/systemd/generator/rpcbind.service.d
                             └─50-rpcbind-$portmap.conf
                     Active: active (running) since jeu 2017-07-20 11:06:35 CEST; 25min ago
                   Main PID: 1264 (rpcbind)
                      Tasks: 1
                     Memory: 732.0K
                        CPU: 7ms
                     CGroup: /system.slice/rpcbind.service
                             └─1264 /sbin/rpcbind -f -w
                  
                  jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Starting RPC bind portmap service...
                  jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG rpcbind[1264]: rpcbind: xdr_/run/rpcbind/rpcbind.xdr: failed
                  jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG rpcbind[1264]: rpcbind: xdr_/run/rpcbind/portmap.xdr: failed
                  jui 20 11:06:35 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Started RPC bind portmap service.
                  
                  sudo service nfs-kernel-server status
                  ● nfs-server.service - NFS server and services
                     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/nfs-server.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
                     Active: active (exited) since jeu 2017-07-20 11:23:57 CEST; 8min ago
                    Process: 3293 ExecStopPost=/usr/sbin/exportfs -f (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                    Process: 3288 ExecStopPost=/usr/sbin/exportfs -au (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                    Process: 3283 ExecStop=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd 0 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                    Process: 3310 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd $RPCNFSDARGS (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                    Process: 3308 ExecStartPre=/usr/sbin/exportfs -r (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                   Main PID: 3310 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
                  
                  jui 20 11:23:57 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Starting NFS server and services...
                  jui 20 11:23:57 SERV-FOG systemd[1]: Started NFS server and services.
                  
                  
                  /images$ ll
                  total 24
                  drwxrwxrwx  6 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
                  drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 jui 20 09:28 ../
                  drwxrwxrwx  3 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 dev/
                  -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postdownloadscripts/
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 15:41 WIN10X64STANDALONENOSYSPREP/
                  drwxrwxrwx  2 fog  root 4096 jui 19 16:49 WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/
                  myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images$ cd dev/
                  myuserlocal@SERV-FOG:/images/dev$ ll
                  total 12
                  drwxrwxrwx 3 fog root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ./
                  drwxrwxrwx 6 fog root 4096 jui 19 16:49 ../
                  -rwxrwxrwx 1 fog root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck*
                  drwxrwxrwx 2 fog root 4096 mar 29 11:27 postinitscripts/
                  
                  ls -laR /images | grep .mntcheck
                  -rwxrwxrwx  1 fog  root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck
                  -rwxrwxrwx 1 fog root    0 mar 29 11:27 .mntcheck
                  
                  
                  

                  I have try to restart service, reboot server, update /etc/exports, i got same issue

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • george1421G
                    george1421 Moderator
                    last edited by george1421

                    @laintimes said in Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?:

                    Can you provide the output of this command ls -la /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/ Your cat command should have returned something or imaging would have failed.

                    The Attempting to check in error typically means that the fog server isn’t being addressed properly, like a setting is blank for the storage node IP (just guessing here).

                    Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • L
                      laintimes
                      last edited by laintimes

                      for : ls -la /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/

                      i got

                      0_1500551973167_46f38045-9f12-4501-927f-c4904d58bfa8-image.png

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • S
                        Sebastian Roth Moderator
                        last edited by Sebastian Roth

                        @laintimes Please edit the file /images/WIN10X64STANDALONESYSPREP/d1.fixed_size_partitions by hand (e.g. using nano) and put in 1. This will leave the first partition untouched on resizing.

                        Then deploy the image to one of your clients again and see if it boots properly.

                        Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                        Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • L
                          laintimes
                          last edited by

                          for fix : **The Attempting to check in error ** loop, after fog upgrade

                          FOG Configuration -> FOG Setting -> Web Server and check the FOG_WEB_ROOT path

                          In my case it was reset during the upgrade

                          @Sebastian-Roth i’m capturing standalone windows 10 install i will try your tip

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                          • S
                            Sebastian Roth Moderator
                            last edited by

                            @laintimes Keep in mind that you need to manually edit that file every time you capture the master image again.

                            Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                            Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • L
                              laintimes
                              last edited by

                              upgrade to fog 1.4.4 seems to have solved my problem thanks everybody

                              nice jobs for fog project ! 🙂

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • Tom ElliottT
                                Tom Elliott
                                last edited by

                                Seeing as differnt locale’s are changing the “label” of the drive to be locale specific, I don’t know of a way I can automate this.

                                Current checks to define “fixed size” are: System Reserved or Recovery. While I could try adding more checks, the problems come in because I don’t know what is to be labelled, how and when. I know on the english side Reserved or Recovery will be used.

                                Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG! Get in contact with me (chat bubble in the top right corner) if you want to join in.

                                Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                                Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                                S george1421G 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • S
                                  Sebastian Roth Moderator @Tom Elliott
                                  last edited by

                                  @Tom-Elliott said in Best way to make Windows 10 Master and upload ?:

                                  Seeing as differnt locale’s are changing the “label” of the drive to be locale specific, I don’t know of a way I can automate this.

                                  Current checks to define “fixed size” are: System Reserved or Recovery. While I could try adding more checks, the problems come in because I don’t know what is to be labelled, how and when. I know on the english side Reserved or Recovery will be used.

                                  Yeah, this is an issue and I can’t see how we can fix this from our side.

                                  Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                                  Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • george1421G
                                    george1421 Moderator @Tom Elliott
                                    last edited by

                                    @Tom-Elliott another FOG parameter. Not very clean but typically FOG will be installed in a unique local and not traverse across.

                                    Possibly also something in the language file to control what the system "thinks’ the system partition is called?

                                    Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG!

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • 1 / 1
                                    • First post
                                      Last post

                                    287

                                    Online

                                    12.0k

                                    Users

                                    17.3k

                                    Topics

                                    155.2k

                                    Posts
                                    Copyright © 2012-2024 FOG Project