Delete Image - Migrate Hosts



  • Hello,

    I think it would be useful if when I go to delete an image, it gives me the option to select a new image for all the associated hosts.



  • @Tom-Elliott said in Delete Image - Migrate Hosts:

    If you know you’re going to be deleting an image, why would changing the associated host’s image matter? What if you wanted to use different images on different “currently associated” hosts?

    This, I would think, should be thought of before removing the image. Just thinking out loud. I’m not saying this isn’t a good feature request, just thinking about the logistics of such a thing.

    Fair enough.

    Idea. On the ‘Membership’ page for an image. You already have all the associated hosts there, as well as the checkboxes and the option to delete hosts from that image.

    How about, under that, add the option to choose a different image? This way a user could quickly select new images for whichever hosts he/she wants.


  • Senior Developer

    If you know you’re going to be deleting an image, why would changing the associated host’s image matter? What if you wanted to use different images on different “currently associated” hosts?

    This, I would think, should be thought of before removing the image. Just thinking out loud. I’m not saying this isn’t a good feature request, just thinking about the logistics of such a thing.



  • Thankfully, I can type the image name into the Hosts search box and it lists all the hosts. Then I move them into a ‘TestGroup’, change the image, then delete them from that group. It works, but it’s annoying.


  • Moderator

    I agree.

    When I was using fog big-time, I kept groups for everything.

    For example, there was a classroom of 30ish computers that was mis-matched. I had one group for the one model in there, another group for another, and then a group for the whole room.

    I had groups for a certain model type. So every Optiplex 7010 was in a group called “All Optiplex 7010”

    I had a group called “All desktops” and “All Laptops”.

    I had groups for locations. I.E. “South Location”

    I had groups for deployments. I.E. “Microtype Software Group”

    I had groups for printers. I.E. “ROOM 2045 Printer”

    I had tons of groups.

    So, if you had groups like this, after deleting an image you could go find the group that image was assigned to and assign another easily.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.