Provide option to not overwrite existing OU when applying AD settings to a group



  • When members of a group have differing OU values in the AD configuration, the value for the group is displayed as a blank. However if group change is made, this blank value causes all machines to have their OU values reverted to the default.

    I’m requesting a feature where if the value is blank, instead of reverting to defaults, it leaves the value unchanged, with an option to use the default value specified separately, possibly with a checkbox next to the OU box labeled “Use Default Value”



  • @bmercer Awesome suggestion - and I agree this is needed.



  • @Tom-Elliott said in Provide option to not overwrite existing OU when applying AD settings to a group:

    So what happens if you wanted to “clear” out all the information? How do you clear out the OU’s?

    Just brainstorming here but for clearing the values on hosts in the group, I’d suggest a checkbox called “Clear this value on hosts” or something similar for each of the available fields, not just the OU field.

    And if the field is left blank, don’t change the values.


  • Senior Developer

    So what happens if you wanted to “clear” out all the information? How do you clear out the OU’s?

    As stated earlier, I do understand the worry and what you’re asking about, but I can’t think of a “nice” way to handle this. I suppose I could add a checkbox but shouldn’t I make this available for all of the AD fields? (In regards to groups?)

    I have to think on it. If you have any other ideas/suggestions let me know. I think the checkbox idea would be the cleanest option for this though.


 

506
Online

41.8k
Users

12.3k
Topics

116.1k
Posts