Preserving Data Partition D: on subsequent re-imaging



  • Hi All,

    My organization is mostly a Mac and Linux shop and i have built SOEs for both of those OS’s.
    We have roughly 20 odd Windows machines around the place with various hardware from various vendors
    and I have decided to finally give the windows people some love and build a SOE for them.

    Now in the Linux and OSX SOE’s I have always separated the user data from the operating system and applications onto separate partitions so that the machines can be re-imaged easily without the need to backup the users data before restoring it. I was hoping to do the same with the Windows 7 clients as well.

    The current partition setup on Win7 machines that have been built by hand is as so:

    /dev/sda1 (100MB)
    /dev/sda2 (between 50-120GB) System C:
    /dev/sda3 (Remainder of the Disk) D:

    Samba4 AD Group Policy is configuring machines to currently place the Users folder onto D:\Users\

    Is it possible to have FOG only destroy the sda1 and sda2 partitions and leave the sda3 (D: Partition in tact) On re-imaging the client?

    Thanks in advance,

    Ash


Log in to reply
 

387
Online

39.3k
Users

11.0k
Topics

104.6k
Posts

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.