• Recent
    • Unsolved
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Groups
    • Search
    • Register
    • Login

    LDAP Plugin install

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved
    General
    4
    22
    3.0k
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • K
      Kiweegie
      last edited by Kiweegie

      Hi @stuhad

      I have this working on 1.5.7 dev branch on Ubuntu 18.04 so can walk you through what I’ve done in case that helps? Also check out this post by @m144 which got me started in the right direction.

      Need to install the php plugin and restart apache first off

      sudo apt-get install php-ldap
      sudo systemctl restart apache2
      

      One important note which doesn’t seem to be documented anywhere - the AD Bind password does not like special characters. I’ve not had time to test which ones are ok and which are not so just went with an alphanumeric password to get up and running.

      Assuming your domain is example.com and you have 2 domain controllers:

      dc01.example.com
      dc02.example.com

      Create a security group to house the users you want to log in over LDAP here we will use group fogserver admins in the OU=security groups. And a service account which has been delegated the rights to add and delete computer objects on your domain or in a pinch added as member of the Domain Admins group.

      In the FOG ui click on the LDAP icon and then create new LDAP link on the left and fill in details as follows

      LDAP connection name: dc01.example.com (each connection name must be unique)
      LDAP Server Address: dc01.example.com
      LDAP Server Port: 389
      Search Base DN: dc=example,dc=com
      Group Search DN: dc=example,dc=com
      Admin group: cn=fogserver_admins,ou=security groups,dc=example,dc=com
      Mobile group: cn=fogserver_admins,ou=security groups,dc=example,dc=com
      User Name Attribute: sAMAccountName
      Group Member Attribute: member
      Search Scope: Subtree and below
      Bind DN: cn=service fogserver,ou=service_accounts,dc=example,dc=com
      Bind password: <password for service account - add in plain text)

      You can (and should) add multiple entries here with your other DCs for redundancy, just fill in another LDAP entry with unique connection name.

      You should then be able to login to the FOG web portal with a domain username e.g. foguser (no need to add as example\foguser)

      If a user who is not a member of your fogserver admins group tries to login it will fail on the UI with error

      fogserver_admins))(member=CN=Jake Fake,OU=Users,OU=Sales,DC=example,DC=com)); Result: 0\nPHP message: Plugin LDAP::_result(). Search Method: search; Filter: (&(|(name=cn=fogserver_admins)(name=ou=security groups)(name=dc=example)(name=dc=com))(member=CN=Jake Fake,OU=Users,OU=Sales,DC=example,DC=com)); Result: 0\nPHP message: Plugin LDAP::authLDAP() Access level is still 0 or false. No access is allowed!\n', referer: http://fogserver/fog/management/index.php?node=home
      

      Try that and if you’re still having issues let us know what OS you’re running and what entries you’re using in the LDAP setup - feel free to edit the entries for privacy reasons.

      regards Tom

      Tom ElliottT 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
      • Tom ElliottT
        Tom Elliott @Kiweegie
        last edited by

        @Kiweegie I should add that the Admin group and Mobile Groups should not need to be full DNs.

        So, for example, you have “Admin Group” set as a DN in your example, but you can just do: fogserver_admins

        Similarly, you can also add multiple groups to allow by using a comma such as:

        domain admins,domain manager computer objects,desktop administrators
        

        You can do the same for Mobile Group. You do not need both to be filled out.

        Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG! Get in contact with me (chat bubble in the top right corner) if you want to join in.

        Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

        Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

        K 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
        • K
          Kiweegie @Tom Elliott
          last edited by Kiweegie

          @Tom-Elliott Excellent stuff, added to my notes 🙂

          Edit: actually I had that format under the Admin group but not the Mobile group. Which leads me to a question of my own - what is the Mobile group actually used for?

          Tom ElliottT 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • Tom ElliottT
            Tom Elliott @Kiweegie
            last edited by

            @Kiweegie In the past the mobile group was setup for users who you didn’t want access to the main gui, but allowed access to the mobile gui.

            This has kind of fallen down the wayside as we moved to making a responsive gui vs. two seperate gui’s.

            Now there is really not much difference between them, though it’s kept more as a safety as you can code things around based on it if you so needed.

            Now, though, if you need to limit controls, I’d suggest using the AccessControl plugin. This isn’t a catch-all by any means, but is probably light years better at managing user’s and controlling what they can and cannot do in the GUI than anything FOG had prior to 1.5.x.

            Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG! Get in contact with me (chat bubble in the top right corner) if you want to join in.

            Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

            Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

            K 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
            • K
              Kiweegie @Tom Elliott
              last edited by

              @Tom-Elliott ok cool that makes sense ref the one UI being more responsive. If I check the UI on my phone (Samsung S10+ running Android 10) the UI is not as good as it could be. Not a criticism in any way but pointing it out. Its certainly usable but the display is a little “janky”

              Same using Chrome (80.0.3987.87) or Firefox (68.5.0)

              96fab836-f9e6-4b41-a15e-173c1c87f8b2-image.png

              f8cfc7ae-594e-4532-8f48-cd094b9edc14-image.png

              regards Tom

              Tom ElliottT 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • Tom ElliottT
                Tom Elliott @Kiweegie
                last edited by

                @Kiweegie We’re aware of that, and 1.5.x GUI was a step toward the right direction. If you want a much nicer GUI, you are more than welcome to test working-1.6.

                Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG! Get in contact with me (chat bubble in the top right corner) if you want to join in.

                Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • S
                  Sebastian Roth Moderator
                  last edited by

                  @Kiweegie Just be aware that working-1.6 is still under strong development and there is no easy way back to 1.5.x unless you have snapshots to go back to.

                  Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                  Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                  K 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                  • K
                    Kiweegie @Sebastian Roth
                    last edited by

                    @Sebastian-Roth @Tom-Elliott thanks both

                    We need the current live FOG install to JFDI at the moment so can’t play with the live environment but I’m putting together a virtual box lab to test version 1.6 with location plugin, LDAP etc.

                    Update once i get that up and running.

                    cheers Tom

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • S
                      stuhad
                      last edited by

                      Thanks for the quick response guys, and sorry about the late reply.

                      Glad that I installed the correct php plugin, I’ve restarted the fog server a couple of times after installing as well.

                      Based on Kiweegie’s example I’ve changed the Search scope to Subtree and below, but unfortunately this doesn’t seem to have fixed the issue.

                      How does the LDAP plugin handle spaces in the DN search list? for example:
                      Search Base DN: ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au

                      Here’s our (edited for privacy) config for one of our DCs

                      LDAP connection name: dc1
                      LDAP Server Address: IP Address (is an IP ok?)
                      LDAP Server Port: 389
                      Use Group Matching: ticked
                      Search Base DN: ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                      Group Search DN: ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                      Admin group: cn=fog admins,ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                      Mobile group: cn=fog admins,ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                      User Name Attribute: sAMAccountName
                      Group Member Attribute: member
                      Search Scope: Subtree and below
                      Bind DN: cn=ldapadmin,ou=services,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                      Bind password: added in plaintext

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • S
                        stuhad
                        last edited by

                        Sorry we are running Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS

                        Under Fog Configuration > Fog Version Information it says we’re running the latest stable version: 1.5.7

                        But then it states under Kernel Versions:
                        DefaultMember Fog Version: (1.5.5)

                        and the bottom right hand corner of the GUI states: 1.5.5

                        bdb77a4d-a863-457c-9313-6ec089ec4d69-image.png

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • S
                          Sebastian Roth Moderator
                          last edited by Sebastian Roth

                          @stuhad said in LDAP Plugin install:

                          But then it states under Kernel Versions:
                          DefaultMember Fog Version: (1.5.5)
                          and the bottom right hand corner of the GUI states: 1.5.5

                          Seems like something went wrong with your install. Please run the following command and post output here:
                          ls -al /var/www; ls -al /var/www/html; ls -al /var/www/html/fog

                          Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                          Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                          Tom ElliottT S 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • Tom ElliottT
                            Tom Elliott @Sebastian Roth
                            last edited by

                            @Sebastian-Roth I fixed the versioning issue. No update needed to see this.

                            There was a slight issue on the remote side code that checks the version information for us.

                            Please help us build the FOG community with everyone involved. It's not just about coding - way more we need people to test things, update documentation and most importantly work on uniting the community of people enjoying and working on FOG! Get in contact with me (chat bubble in the top right corner) if you want to join in.

                            Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                            Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • S
                              Sebastian Roth Moderator
                              last edited by

                              @stuhad So are you on 1.5.5 or 1.5.7 now?

                              Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                              Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • S
                                stuhad @Sebastian Roth
                                last edited by stuhad

                                Hey Sebastion,

                                I’m not certain if we are on 1.5.5 or 1.5.7, perhaps the upgrade failed? Is there any way I can tell definitively?

                                Here is the output you requested.

                                $ ls -al /var/www; ls -al /var/www/html; ls -al /var/www/html/fog
                                total 16
                                drwxr-xr-x  4 root     root     4096 Mar 14  2019 .
                                drwxr-xr-x 14 root     root     4096 Mar 14  2019 ..
                                drwxr-xr-x 10 www-data www-data 4096 Mar 14  2019 fog
                                drwxr-xr-x  2 root     root     4096 Mar 14  2019 html
                                total 20
                                drwxr-xr-x 2 root root  4096 Mar 14  2019 .
                                drwxr-xr-x 4 root root  4096 Mar 14  2019 ..
                                lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root    13 Mar 14  2019 fog -> /var/www/fog/
                                -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 10918 Mar 14  2019 index.html
                                lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Mar 14  2019 /var/www/html/fog -> /var/www/fog/ 
                                

                                @Sebastian-Roth said in LDAP Plugin install:

                                ls -al /var/www; ls -al /var/www/html; ls -al /var/www/html/fo

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • S
                                  Sebastian Roth Moderator
                                  last edited by

                                  @stuhad The output looks fine from a technical point of view. Though I am wondering about the file change date of /var/www/fog/ as 1.5.7 came out after March 14th 2019. Please run the two commands

                                  grep FOG_VERSION /var/www/html/fog/lib/fog/system.class.php
                                  find /var/www -name "system.class.php"
                                  

                                  and post output here.

                                  Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                                  Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                                  S 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • S
                                    stuhad @Sebastian Roth
                                    last edited by

                                    @Sebastian-Roth

                                    $ grep FOG_VERSION /var/www/html/fog/lib/fog/system.class.php
                                            define('FOG_VERSION', '1.5.5');
                                    $ find /var/www -name "system.class.php"
                                    /var/www/fog/lib/fog/system.class.php
                                    
                                    S 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • S
                                      stuhad @stuhad
                                      last edited by

                                      OK sorry I’m not sure what changed but it seems like the GUI is now saying we are in fact not running 1.5.7 but actually 1.5.5, which at least makes sense as no one remembers upgrading Fog, and it matches the log output. Just not sure why it was reporting 1.5.7 before… perhaps a DNS issue?

                                      6b8da88d-60e5-4a0f-bb96-2cbed0665a5a-image.png

                                      The only change I can think of is I performed an apt install to install ldap-utils so I could troubleshoot if it was perhaps a network issue between our fog server and the domain controllers not sure why this would make any difference to what the GUI was reporting.

                                      I’ve confirmed I can query the domain controllers using ldapsearch from the fog server without issue so it doesn’t appear to be a network problem. Unfortunately, ldap logins still aren’t working to the fog server.

                                      Would you recommend I try actually upgrading to 1.5.7?

                                      Cheers,

                                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • S
                                        Sebastian Roth Moderator
                                        last edited by

                                        @stuhad said in LDAP Plugin install:

                                        OK sorry I’m not sure what changed but it seems like the GUI is now saying we are in fact not running 1.5.7 but actually 1.5.5,

                                        Did you see Tom’s post? There seemed to be an issue in the version check script on our webserver which led to it saying you are “up to date” eventhough you are running the years old 1.5.5 version. Tom fixed it. You can always be sure the version number in the bottom right corner is the one you have.

                                        Updating to a newer version might surely help. Though I can’t promise you this particular issue has been fixed between 1.5.5 and 1.5.7 I am sure people use the LDAP plugin with 1.5.7.

                                        But you might want to wait a few more days because we are preparing the 1.5.8 release to come out soon.

                                        Web GUI issue? Please check apache error (debian/ubuntu: /var/log/apache2/error.log, centos/fedora/rhel: /var/log/httpd/error_log) and php-fpm log (/var/log/php*-fpm.log)

                                        Please support FOG if you like it: https://wiki.fogproject.org/wiki/index.php/Support_FOG

                                        K S 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • K
                                          Kiweegie @Sebastian Roth
                                          last edited by Kiweegie

                                          @stuhad

                                          We are running on the dev version here 1.5.7.109 and can confirm that LDAP plugin works on this version.

                                          Re your FOG install showing 1.55 but earlier not I think you’re seeing the issue that @Tom-Elliott referred to below and has fixed.

                                          As to why the LDAP plugin is not working it will be down to something in the LDAP config I suspect rather than anything linked to the FOG version. I’ve had LDAP plugin working on both 1.55 and 1.57.

                                          Do you have anything in the following log file at all in reference to LDAP users?

                                          /var/log/apaches/error.log
                                          

                                          Looking through your LDAP config and comments from previous post

                                          LDAP connection name: dc1
                                          (fine as long as each connection name is unique)
                                          LDAP Server Address: IP Address (is an IP ok?)
                                          IP address OK, thats what I’ve used
                                          LDAP Server Port: 389
                                          OK
                                          Use Group Matching: ticked
                                          OK
                                          Search Base DN: ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          I’ve set my search base here to the root of the domain so try just dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          Group Search DN: ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          Should be fine - spaces in OU names also OK.
                                          Admin group: cn=fog admins,ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          Try just using the group name here “fog admins” don’t need the cn entry. Also try removing space. Should be ok but something to rule out
                                          Mobile group: cn=fog admins,ou=fog users,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          As above
                                          User Name Attribute: sAMAccountName
                                          OK
                                          Group Member Attribute: member
                                          OK
                                          Search Scope: Subtree and below
                                          OK
                                          Bind DN: cn=ldapadmin,ou=services,dc=company,dc=com,dc=au
                                          This user should have delegated rights to add and delete computer objects. If unsure try adding as member of Domain Admins group to test
                                          Bind password: added in plaintext
                                          OK

                                          Ninja Edit: With the password remember to ensure no special characters!!

                                          Give the above a whirl and let us know how you get on.

                                          regards Tom

                                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                          • S
                                            stuhad @Sebastian Roth
                                            last edited by

                                            @Sebastian-Roth said in LDAP Plugin install:

                                            Did you see Tom’s post? There seemed to be an issue in the version check script on our webserver which led to it saying you are “up to date” eventhough you are running the years old 1.5.5 version. Tom fixed it. You can always be sure the version number in the bottom right corner is the one you have.

                                            Hey sorry about the confusion I did see his comment, but clearly did not understand. It’s a huge relief that we aren’t dealing with a failed upgrade.

                                            Thanks for all your help with this everyone, I have finally got the plugin working. As @Kiweegie suggested early on the password complexity seemed to be the issue. I had made sure there was no special characters in it, but I had made the password obscenely long. Changing it < 24 characters seems to have done the trick.

                                            Apologies for all the confusion and thanks again for all the help.

                                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                            • 1
                                            • 2
                                            • 2 / 2
                                            • First post
                                              Last post

                                            153

                                            Online

                                            12.0k

                                            Users

                                            17.3k

                                            Topics

                                            155.2k

                                            Posts
                                            Copyright © 2012-2024 FOG Project