TFTP Timeout Issue/First FOG Install



  • Server
    • FOG Version: 1.3.5
    • OS: Ubuntu 17.04
    Client
    • Service Version:
    • OS: Windows 10
    Description

    0_1494092677343_VirtualBox_FogMachine1_06_05_2017_11_24_47.png

    NOTE - First time trying to set up FOG so very new to installing it and troubleshooting it. Have used FOG in the past but it was already set up for me

    Getting this TFTP Timeout when trying to F12 to FOG screen.

    Running FOG in Ubuntu 17.04 within VirtualBox and can access the Fog Management. VirtualBox (v 5.1.18) is set up in bridged mode so computers on my network can see it (figured it might be easier for me and practical when i try to do this again in a real environment and not a virtual one). DHCP was disabled during FOG install so that it would not interfere with my Router’s DHCP server (Comcast Router, can not turn it off, only can set static reserves).

    Trying to register and inventory another virtual machine running Windows 10 pro also in bridged mode for NIC in VirtualBox.
    Figured once i could get to that screen it should be working fine and i would be able to upload an image to fog and then deploy it on another virtual machine.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.


  • Moderator

    @george1421 we moved the conversation to IM since turn around time was much quicker.

    We got dnsmasq setup with all of the configuration required to pxe boot in a home router environment. DNSMasq probably won’t be needed in a business envionment since a business will typically have a dedicated dhcp server where you can set dhcp options 66 {next-server] and 67 {boot-file}. In the case of the home routers, dnsmasq will provide these missing values.

    At this time the OP is able to pxe boot the VM target computer and was in the process of registering the VM with FOG.

    Marking topic solved.


  • Moderator

    @weltern With linux (unix) case is important.

    I just sent you a IM. Look at the bubble on the fog forum tool bar.



  • @george1421 Tried what you said but still got the same PXE error as last time now. 0_1494105847096_VirtualBox_FogBox_06_05_2017_17_23_25.png

    The file wasn’t there after it installed so i had to make it. Made it on the desktop and pasted your code into it and them sudo moved it to the location.
    The file name is ITSP or LTSP? i have ITSP with the I capital.


  • Moderator

    @weltern This last picture “When I tried to PXE boot after”. Is the exact error I want. That sounds a bit strange, but this is what I would expect to happen with only the dhcp server running on your comcast router.

    The comcast router says I’m the next server, but it doesn’t provide the boot file.

    Now you need to install dnsmasq on your fog server.

    It will probably be a command like this:

    sudo apt-get update
    
    sudo apt-get install dnsmasq
    

    Then paste the config file I posted below into /etc/dnsmasq.d/ltsp.conf

    And finally start dnsmasq with this command sudo service dnsmasq start. All of these commands I posted here are from memory. They may not be exactly right but they are very close. Note: You may need to do a little research to find the exact command.



  • @george1421 Don’t see this file in file veiwer. Is it hidden? what is the best way to copy this stuff over to it?



  • When i ran the command and then checked the Status 0_1494100296961_VirtualBox_FogBox_06_05_2017_15_50_29.png

    When i tried to PXE boot after0_1494100356367_VirtualBox_FogMachine1_06_05_2017_15_50_08.png



  • @george1421 said in TFTP Timeout Issue/First FOG Install:

    @weltern No we can just stop the service.

    Issue the following command from the linux console command prompt.

    sudo service isc-dhcp-server stop

    Tried it but nothing happened. Terminal never said anything stopped


  • Moderator

    @george1421 Here is the config file we will start with for dnsmasq. The contents of this below shall go in /etc/dnsmasq.d/ltsp.conf

    # Don't function as a DNS server:
    port=0
    
    # Log lots of extra information about DHCP transactions.
    log-dhcp
    
    # Set the root directory for files available via FTP.
    tftp-root=/tftpboot
    
    # The boot filename, Server name, Server Ip Address
    dhcp-boot=undionly.kpxe,,<fog_server_IP>
    
    # Disable re-use of the DHCP servername and filename fields as extra
    # option space. That's to avoid confusing some old or broken DHCP clients.
    dhcp-no-override
    
    # inspect the vendor class string and match the text to set the tag
    dhcp-vendorclass=BIOS,PXEClient:Arch:00000
    dhcp-vendorclass=UEFI32,PXEClient:Arch:00006
    dhcp-vendorclass=UEFI,PXEClient:Arch:00007
    dhcp-vendorclass=UEFI64,PXEClient:Arch:00009
    
    # Set the boot file name based on the matching tag from the vendor class (above)
    dhcp-boot=net:UEFI32,i386-efi/ipxe.efi,,<fog_server_IP>
    dhcp-boot=net:UEFI,ipxe.efi,,<fog_server_IP>
    dhcp-boot=net:UEFI64,ipxe.efi,,<fog_server_IP>
    
    # PXE menu.  The first part is the text displayed to the user.  The second is the timeout, in seconds.
    pxe-prompt="Booting FOG Client", 1
    
    # The known types are x86PC, PC98, IA64_EFI, Alpha, Arc_x86,
    # Intel_Lean_Client, IA32_EFI, BC_EFI, Xscale_EFI and X86-64_EFI
    # This option is first and will be the default if there is no input from the user.
    pxe-service=X86PC, "Boot to FOG", undionly.kpxe
    pxe-service=X86-64_EFI, "Boot to FOG UEFI", ipxe.efi
    pxe-service=BC_EFI, "Boot to FOG UEFI PXE-BC", ipxe.efi
    
    dhcp-range=<fog_server_ip>,proxy
    

  • Moderator

    @george1421 When you get isc dhcp server stopped, then pxe boot your target computer. You should get something about the boot file was not sent or some kind of pxe timeout error. This is a good thing in a way. We can work from there.


  • Moderator

    @weltern No we can just stop the service.

    Issue the following command from the linux console command prompt.

    sudo service isc-dhcp-server stop

    Understand this will not fix our issue. It will break pxe booting but return you to a sane setup. From there we will install dnsmasq and get you moving in the right direction.

    I will also give you a tip. Download and install putty on your windows laptop. Then you can connect to the fog server using putty (ssh). It makes copy and pasting a bit easier from the fog forums.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP Timeout Issue/First FOG Install:

    @weltern When you installed fog either time, did you have it install the dhcp server?

    Yes i did. Was following a video tutorial and wasn’t sure how i wanted to run fog on my network (either on bridged or on its own virtual network) and installed the DHCP service during the initial install.

    Should i wipe the virtual machine and try again with installing fog fresh as i did this time and without the dhcp?


  • Moderator

    @weltern When you installed fog either time, did you have it install the dhcp server?

    1. I can’t understand how it get the next server (10.0.0.16) in the first try and iPXE loads correctly.
    2. When iPXE asks for the next server it gets the comcast gateway.

    I understand about the comcast gateway they will point to itself as the pxe boot server for some reason. So I can’t understand how you are getting the ipxe kernel from the fog server to begin with. It should be either left or right, not both ways.

    It acts like there might be two dhcp servers on your home network.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP Timeout Issue/First FOG Install:

    @george1421 OK so tell me a bit more about this network.

    Is this a home network or a business?

    Did you have fog setup here before?

    For your dhcp server that your computers are using, what is supplying the dhcp information?

    Home Network

    Have not installed Fog here before, Although i have reinstalled Fog on the same Virtual machine (by removing the fogsettings files and running install again)

    Built in DHCP server in Comcast Gateway. Comcast locks that bit down. Only thing i can do is set the scope size and manual reservations


  • Moderator

    @george1421 OK so tell me a bit more about this network.

    Is this a home network or a business?

    Did you have fog setup here before?

    For your dhcp server that your computers are using, what is supplying the dhcp information?


  • Moderator

    @weltern Interesting what I expected to be wrong, is right. I need to think about this first. Because something is a bit off. You should not be getting this far because the ipxe boot file is coming form some place just not where I’m expecting it.



  • @george1421 said in TFTP Timeout Issue/First FOG Install:

    @weltern Before we go down that path. Can you run the following command from the linux console of your fog server?

    cat /tftpboot/default.ipxe and post the results here

    0_1494094596715_VirtualBox_FogBox_06_05_2017_14_16_17.png


  • Moderator

    @weltern Before we go down that path. Can you run the following command from the linux console of your fog server?

    cat /tftpboot/default.ipxe and post the results here



  • @george1421 how do i get and install that?



  • @george1421 Where do i set those? that very well could be my issue.

    Also to answer your other question (new user - can only submit once a couple minutes) I have not changed the IP of the server after install.

    here is fog settings
    0_1494094342362_VirtualBox_FogBox_06_05_2017_14_11_50.png


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to FOG Project was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.