Windows 10 temp file clean up - Error(5) shrinkPartition - Capture fail

• I have a windows 10 machine that has 25GB of windows.old temp files. I’m unable to capture an image after I free up the temp files using the built in windows 10 storage clean tool.

This is not a picture from the system I’m imaging but wanted to show where I’m doing the cleanup.
    Capture.PNG

This is the error message I get when I try and capture the image.
    thumbnail_IMG_4228.jpg

• Developer

@duanekaeb Thanks for the pictures. What I posted was the command parted -l - the parameter being a lower case l (like lion). But using the print command you still got us exactly the information I was hoping to see.

Ok, so the partition layout is fine from my point of view. So now I am wondering if C: is simply almost full and that is causing the problem. Reviewing the pictures again I saw something that I have not noticed before: Needed relocations: ... (16179 MB)

While I am not an expert on the ntfs3g-lib implementation I am really wondering if this is just “too much for it”. It tries to shrink the partition and for that to be able to do it would need to relocate/move roughly 16 GB of data. While it’s not nice that it fails to do so I can kind of understand it’s having a hard time to do so.

I really wonder why defrag didn’t help you with this. Probably a bit different on the SSD, hmmmm. Not sure what else we can do for you.

• @Sebastian-Roth, here you go.

thumbnail_IMG_4360.jpg

That may not be what you’re looking for. I pressed enter and the command line popped up. Parted -1 returned an error but I was able to get something when I typed in parted. This is a screen shot of the print command.

thumbnail_IMG_4363.jpg

• @Quazz I ran all four of these commands I found on another post but still no go.

kafluke Apr 24, 2019, 10:06 AM
    @Quazz I saw a post by you in another thread and took your advice. I ran all these commands and it’s capturing now: